We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
475
401
207
89
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
401
207
89
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery coach parties coach trip loch lomond four poster bed four nights shower head function room lovely hotel small village great night open fire weekend break evening meal haggis waiting staff from start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
906 - 911 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stopped here for 1 night 3rd Feb with my husband. We were both pleasantly pleased with our choice. The hotel is situated in a lovely village, traditional inside and well kept. The staff made us very welcome, especially a young lad in the bar. The food was very nice just what we needed especially the chips. Our bedroom was very comfy. I can recommend this Hotel 100%. If your in Drymen stop here. The loch is only a few minutes away, great for walkers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here on the 5/6 Feb 2012, booking the Murder Mystery night as well.
The hotel really caters for coach parties, and other guests are pushed to one side. The rooms are basic, with apalling beds & pillows - & we were in the new ??? part of this hotel.Only 3 TV channels were available. Very noisy at night up to 3,30am !
Breakfast was of a poor quality.
The murder mystery was a farce !!! - The meal was basic but ok, but the cost of this for the 2 of us, including accommodation for 1 night was £160 -
The food in the bar, where we had to eat the following night was dreadful, we could not eat in either restaurant, as this was full of coach parties.
I would not recommend this hotel, to anyone, unless you are on a coach trip - even then things are very basic.
Sad to leave these comments - but this was a disappointing trip for us all.

Room Tip: Dont think any are good, (our friends room overlooked the kitchen, and they heard bottles been broken at all hours !!) - ours the coach car park - coaches being started up & running at 7am !!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frances3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I haven't stayed at the Winnock, so can't comment on it as a hotel, but the bar with its roaring fire is a great place for walkers to have a bite to eat after exploring the east side of Loch Lomond. Good pub grub, excellent value and friendly service. Nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Just spent a most enjoyable weekend at the Winnock. Staff very welcoming and helpful. We dined in the bar area , a relaxing atmosphere with excellent food. I can recommend the fish and chips (no joke the chips are the best I've ever tasted!) and my husband had the steak with the pepper sauce which he said was excellent.
We booked a deluxe double room - well worth the extra money. It had it's own small balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel, which would be handy for summer evenings with a bottle of wine and two glasses. The room was very clean and spacious with shower and bath which had it's own TV! - although we didn't use it.
A pity the log fire in reception was out of commission but was told it's up for renovation very soon.
Hope to return in the not to distant future

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie60_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Back yesterday from a 4 night stay, travelled with Edwards Coaches from South Wales, this was the first time we had used them and were very impressed with them. Had a 3 hour delay getting there had sadly been a fatal accident on motorway. We go there tired after a long drive to a lovely meal and welcome. Every day the food just got better and better. Our room was lovely although supposed to be the most haunted room in the hotel (No. 39) we didnt see anything, although a fellow traveller had an "experience" !! The staff were so friendly, efficient and very polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Every day we had 3 choices of courses for evening meal and I did not hear anyone complain. Breakfast was very good too with plenty of choice again. We had good entertainment although missed the first one due to late arrival. On the Saturday night they piped in the Haggis and had Ceidliah evening. I never say I want to go back to a hotel a second time but would certainly go there again. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: We were in 39 which is in the oldest part overlooking the front of the hotel, it was very quiet and didn't hear any traffic but supposedly 39 and either 38 or 36 were supposed to be the most haunted !! We had a double and a single bed and a very large flat screen TV.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan50Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews