We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
36
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
4
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three cottages loch lomond scotland privacy pubs
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed here in October 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything about the place was well thought out - easy to find, great setting, loads of useful information, very peaceful, very child friendly with loads of things to do if (when) it rains - and a sauna. As we were arriving a baby deer ran across the path - a lovely start. The local village of Drymen is in walking distance with a marvellous local butcher serving the greatest pies you could find anywhere in the world outside of Wigan and a range of high quality meat - try the stornaway black puddings...mmmmm....... The Ptarmigan Bar at the Winnock does reasonably priced good bar meals. Lots to do and see. We'd definitely go back!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Don't be put off with first impressions of the outside. Inside is absolutely stunning. Very clean, warm and cosy. Sun from morning to night in the decking area. Kitchen fully equiped. Quiet and peaceful. Everything in this cottage was to a high standard. Excellent for adults and couples. Reluctant to take children as you would constantly be on edge in case they had an "accident". Policy and proceedures are very strict, so athough this is ideal for families I would find it difficult to relax. Loads of information for things to do and eating out. Chinese delivered was fantastic. Paperwork suggests that there is an electricty allowance, but it is not stipulated anywhere what the allowance is, but you will be charged if you go over. Alot of info for places is dated from 2005 - 2008, probably hasen't changed much.
All in all great accommodation, highly recommend it. Strict guidelines are required to be in place so as to maintain high standards.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just returned from what was going to be two nights at Foxglove Cottages to end our busy but wonderful tour of the Highlands and Islands of Sctotland. Had to book a third night, it was just so relaxing. We were lucky enough to have the first day on our own as the other 2 lodges (they aren't cottages) were empty which was even better. James the owner was having the road improved and even that didn't shatter the tranquility. Such a secluded peaceful spot - highly recommended.

The only tiny negative point were that there wasn't a freezer in the lodge (middle lodge) which is a bit odd considering the standard of the interiors.

Go and enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Thumbelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We have recently returned following a week long stay in Foxglove Cottages. Neither of us wanted to leave, which is really saying something, as we have stayed in some of the finest hotels across the world.

If you are planning a visit to Loch Lomond, you simplely have to stay here. The piece and quite was simply wonderful.

Foxglove Cottages really sell themselves short, their website simplely doesn't do justice to the cottages.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDoctorBiarritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Having travelled from Reading to Scotland via Northumberland we were delighted to find this hidden gem in a secluded country estate just 10 minutes walk from pubs and restaurants. We could just relax, with all the information provided, watch the huge tv and a Sky film with a delivered meal.

There is real homely feel with a lot of personal touches from the owners that completely relaxes you. We will be sorry to leave and doubt the next place will reach anywhere near the standard fo Foxglove.

Date of stay: June 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ReadingHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews