We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Worth a Stop!

We saw these ruins driving out to Ettrick Bay and pulled over on the way back to have a look. Ended... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
Squither
,
England
Bute Holiday

Well worth the quite tiring walk from Ettrick to kilmichael,you can do half of the walk to the car... read more

Reviewed 5 July 2018
Charles S
,
Stevenage
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
10
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a stop ettrick bay grave photos chapel bute
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Beautiful ruins and very well kept, although it wasn't an intentional visit (we came across them while driving round the island) glad that we found them.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Karis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

A short drive out of town but it is worth the trip so see this historic building. Unfortunately it was pelting down with rain at the time we visited so we did not stay as long as we would have liked.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

On the way to Ettrick Bay you will come across this beauty, we stopped on the way back to admire it and take some pictures. It really is such a shame it is in ruins now, it would have been beautiful in its day.
Nice walk through the grounds reading the headstones and looking through the windows. Would be good if you could get inside to admire but its all over grown so cant get to admire some of its original beauty.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

It's a shame this beautiful church is ruined now; you can see how amazing it must have been in its former glory. An interesting walk, and a keen photographer will make much of its structural power.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Debs_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Visited this church and graveyard in search of ancestors. This church has obviously been a wonder building, sad that is now in ruins. The church yard is immaculate.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 1965jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews