We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic ain’t no accident!”
Review of The Tearoom

The Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 11
Description: The Tearoom provides fresh home baking, hot and cold filled rolls, sandwiches, wraps, all day breakfast menu, full hot and cold drinks menu plus daily specials board. Free wifi available for all customers.
Restaurant details
Description: The Tearoom provides fresh home baking, hot and cold filled rolls, sandwiches, wraps, all day breakfast menu, full hot and cold drinks menu plus daily specials board. Free wifi available for all customers.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Don’t be fooled into thinking that Tighnabruaich, because it is tucked away, is not current, cosmopolitan, cracking - this little hideaway has serviced discerning visitors for many decades! That we keep returning, and never wanting to leave, in no accident.

Let me introduce you to The Tearoom. Kim, proprietor and master chef, has served her time is some fabulous establishments before opening the Tearoom. The Tearoom is pretty, homely, inviting -you will find all your favourites - HOWEVER, hipsters of the world can rest easy knowing that she also knows her falafel from her flat white!

I am always furious that I have to choose from such a lovely menu, when I want it freaking all!

Today. Smoked mackerel pate served with tonnes of toast and a cutesy little salad followed by a fabulous fruit scone and a cracking cuppa.

In the couple of years that I have been coming to Tinny, I have made a friend in Kim. She’s always happy to pass the time and share a laugh. There’s lots to like about Tighnabruaich, but start right here!

Thank GGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We simply wanted a cup of tea and something tasty to eat. This we got. We entered to the smell of fresh baking and to a warm hello. Service was very good indeed - cheerful and helpful. Food was fresh and clearly 'home made' on the premises.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I had visited the Tearoom before and followed on Facebook seeing regular pictures of the wonderful baking. I've been a big fan of this place, telling all I knew about it. However, my latest was a great disappointment. I noted on arrival, the wonderful smells and delicious looking food all about me. My friend and I were very happy to be back. I thought the menu was new and noticed that it prompted me to discuss any allergies with staff. I'm not able to eat wheat so with a friendly smile I asked what there was gluten free. The smile was not returned and I was told well anything which doesn't have gluten in .... eggs, bacon, whatever. I have managed to work those things out for myself over the years. I ordered a salad and it was perfectly good. I asked then if there were any gluten free cake options and was told just the meringues. I have had meringue there before and it was quite a treat so said 'meringue it is then!'. My friend ordered a brownie which promptly arrived. My meringue never did. I didn't bother to repeat my request. My friend and I commented that the first smile we had from the proprietor was the one we saw as we left. The food my friend had was top notch but overall we were both disappointed with our visit and are not keen to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickdruid7, Guest Relations Manager at The Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for taking time to review The Tearoom, we always welcome feedback as we believe it says a lot about us and also sometimes just as much about the reviewer.
We remember your visit well.
We are sorry your expectations were not met, we always strive for improvement. We are learning every day.
We note you and your friend both left separate reviews for the one visit, anyone looking in may possibly think there is more to this than initially meets the eye.

Thanks again.

The Tearoom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I live in Glasgow and come here when I'm in Cowal on holiday. I also follow The Tearoom on Facebook & have encouraged friends and family in Glasgow to come too. Came with a friend on Monday 30/4/18 and whilst the food was, as ever, very good (delicious cheese, red onion & haggis toasties) the service was overtly frosty & unwelcoming. The woman who served us did so begrudgingly as though we were actively causing her a problem by being customers. She also simply did not serve my friend her meringue yet brought me my brownie; both ordered at the same time. Because of her attitude we didn't bother reminding her - by this point not keen to give more business than necessary - and bought ice-cream at the shop, served by a friendly guy. It's a shame because it's such a pretty tearoom and the food is good. I'd be happy to forgo that though and go somewhere less pretty with more genuine service. I love this part of the country so much and usyally people in the area are happy to have customers and serve them.

Thank annjules40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickdruid7, Guest Relations Manager at The Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for taking time to review The Tearoom, we always welcome feedback as we believe it says a lot about us and also sometimes just as much about the reviewer.
We remember your visit well.
We are sorry your expectations were not met, we always strive for improvement. We are learning every day.
We note you and your friend both left separate reviews for the one visit, anyone looking in may possibly think there is more to this than initially meets the eye.

Thanks again.

The Tearoom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Quite a small cafe but so good folks wait outside to get a seat when others leave
Excellent soup and fancy cakes and others enjoyed their sandwiches. Would I go again, I sure would.

1  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tearoom also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing