We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
335
143
30
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
335
143
30
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shinty bar new owners sea view seafood langoustines both nights owners and staff wine list itison deal front facing dining room feel very welcome night break bedroom window beautiful location public rooms friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Hotel has a great location and lovely open fires. Our room was dated, linen was very good quality. The breakfasts were very good, but when it came to dinner, the food was poor. We had langoustine on the second evening and they had clearly been cooked then reheated, the lemon tart had a runny custard and no garnish, extremely poor. The owners were a bit strange as well, I saw them chase off some cyclists that were doing a charity run and had popped in to use the toilet (and tried to buy coffee). All in all it could be good but something were not quite right.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review, I am sad to see you did not feel our evening service was "extremely poor" I can however confirm that we have never and will never cook and then reheat langoustine, I wish you had brought this to our attention and we would have brought you a fresh dish or if you wished an alternative dish. The lemon tart is a popular dessert, the pastry with a custard style filling is served with raspberry ice cream, and the plate is decorated with a raspberry coulis so I am really not sure what 'garnish' you would expect.
With regard to the cyclist group, we are perfectly happy for such groups to use our toilets if they ask in advance, there are public toilets on the route they take. The gentleman who bought the coffee had been a previous guest in the hotel and had felt it courteous to buy a drink before using our facilities, which are maintained for our guests within the hotel and bar. We are not strange, just frustrated with the number of people that see it as their right (and not only cyclists) to use our toilets for their own use without any contribution to their daily cleaning and up keep.
On a closing note, thank you for your comment regarding our linen, we wash and iron all or towels, bedding and table linen in house and it is nice for someone to comment on its quality. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Just back from a one night dinner, bed and breakfast itison deal at this hotel. As it was an out of season Sunday night it was very quiet. Despite this the owners light the fires and candles as they would from a full house. Unlike most three star hotels they prepared the place like a five star with starched linens etc for both dinner and breakfast. This is not a luxury hotel (yet) however we hope to return in the summer to this fantastic location and canvas for the thoughtful owners to creat the five stars they deserve.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marj645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My wife and I re visited the An Lochan for the third tome and found as always, everything to our taste.
We occupied Room 1 which was very large with an equivalently sized bathroom.
The only comment I would make for any improvement there ,are the taps on the wash hand basin and the shower control, although prefectly able to be operated by us, may present a problem for hand disablement in particular,
The bed was very comfortable and we felt refreshed in the morning, to be presented with a n extremely good breakfast menu and at dinner, the food again was of a very high standard and presented excellently.
We were there for two nights and on the basis of dinner, bed and breakfast.
The owners, Keith and Christine, as always, made us very welcome and the parry of words from time to time was entertaining, to say the least and this we gratefully have come to expect of these folk.
We would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area as it is in a position on the Kyles of Bute with wonderful views and is central to a number of areas, both mainland and islands, within a short drive/ ferry trip away, some of which easily can be visited in a day, with the welcoming thought of a good dinner on return and a very good night's sleep.
Norman and Anne McKee..

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank normanmckee946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. We do like to have a bit of banter with the guests and for us it is wonderful to see the likes of yourselves return time and time again, it is like seeing old friends. We do hope you continue to enjoy your stays with us and your comment regarding the taps etc is noted. Until next time, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed for 3 nights recently. The hotel is located right on the bank of the loch. We had a large bedroom with the most fantastic views through a huge bay window. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and spacious. The breakfast was served in the guests dining room and it was really first class. The hotel amenities were great and we enjoyed the food & drinks in the bar. Christine & Keith were excellent hosts, very friendly and most helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PennClaretUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review, following your lovely stay we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Many thanks, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Third time here for me. Lovely hotel. Very friendly owner and staff. Fab food - the scallops were superb. Lovely room, very spacious and lovely views. Go for a sea view room. Worth it.

Just a shame there was no real ale on this time :(

Easy for the Loch Fyne ferry too.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank S7882BMadrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews