We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
327
143
30
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
327
143
30
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshinty barnew ownerssea viewseafoodlangoustinesboth nightsowners and staffwine listcheese boarditison dealfront facingdining roomthis lovely hotelfeel very welcomefull scottish breakfastbeautiful locationpublic rooms
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

An extremely pleasant stay at a very comfortable and clean hotel. The food was excellent, specialising in seafood.
We have stayed in many hotels in the Cowal area and this is by far the best.
We will certainly be using the Royal an Lochan as our base in our future visits to the area.
The owners both made us feel extremely welcome and the staff are all very pleasant.
Thank you all for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Splash out for a front, sea-view room, the views are well worth the money.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeegieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

It was our pleasure to have you stay and we hope you come back soon. Thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely review and for telling others who read it, how good the hotel is. Many thanks, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent a wonderful overnight stay here this month, it's been 14 years since our previous visit (when we were first married) and we definitely won't wait that long again until we book again. I believe there are only 11 rooms and this allows a more personal touch. All staff are friendly and professional, our room was lovely (it's worth paying extra for the sea view) and the food was amazing!
I also have to mention how wonderful it was to have a proper bath sheet in bathroom as so many hotels now seem to offer much smaller ones. The robes are a nice touch too.
It's the attention to detail and personality of this hotel and its staff that lift it from being very good to fabulous!
Can't wait to go back soon.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dbmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

As we discussed upon your departure please don't leave it another 14 years before you return. Thank you for mentioning the little extras which in the long run do not cost that much but get guests like yourselves coming back. For me large bathsheets have always been a must and I do get annoyed with the tiny little squares some hotels have. Thank you once more and we look forward to welcoming you back. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We were told the food was amazing. It was. We were told the staff were terrific, they were. We were told the place was not to be missed, we were told the scenery was stunning. We are so glad we listened; a fabulous three day break!
Thank you Christine and team!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank katemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Word of mouth is definitely the most powerful marketing tool we have and here is proof it worked. We are so glad you listened, it was a pleasure to have you stay and hope you will continue to spread the word. Many thanks, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The Royal is in a beautiful location and offers a warm welcome with friendly helpful team of staff. We only stayed one night as a stopover on a cycle trip but would happily have stayed longer. Our room was tastefully decorated and although didn't have the prized sea view, we had an enormous en-suite bathroom! Breakfast offered an extensive choice of items with a cooked special as an alternative to the classic fry-up.
Recommended and we'd visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HJarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, you mention the 'hot special' as an alternative to the full cooked breakfast, the special varies each day, French Toast and bacon can be followed the next day by West Coast Kippers or Smoked Haddock and scrambled egg or flat cap mushroom, brioche, tomato and a poached egg its chef's choice. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

popped in for lunch and it was great , the view was stunning ,the service from the young man tommy was brilliant , the food was fab...we will be back , what a great place and thank you for the warm welcome keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews