We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar OK. Restaurant dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We went to Macdonald’s Hotel for a drink and dinner. There is a marvellous view down the loch from the bar. While we were there an osprey flew by. The bar is nothing special but it is friendly enough and as good as you are going to get in Kinlochleven. I was disappointed in the small selection of malt whiskies. Our dinner was atrocious. The restaurant has no views and it has the ambience of a workers’ canteen, although the service was not bad. My wife had Oak Smoked Salmon for a starter (£7.90) and it was OK. For the main course she had Wild Mushroom Stroganoff with rice (12.50). It was abysmal. First of all, most of the mushrooms were champignons and not wild mushrooms. Furthermore, it was cooked with tomatoes instead of cream. Yuk! I played safe and ordered the Sirloin Steak (£19.50). Instead of being ‘medium’ it came very well cooked indeed. It was as tough as leather, dry, and tasteless. We washed in down with a glass of Chardonney and Shiraz, respectively (£12). In terms of cuisine, Kinlochleven has not improved since my last visit.

Room Tip: Terrific views from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We’re sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant caused you great unhappiness, however it is quite difficult for us to make amends now that the moment has passed. Had you mentioned at the time that you felt your steak was over medium we would have apologised and replaced it, had you mentioned at the time that you felt your wife’s Stroganoff was cooked with tomatoes we would have politely informed you that the colour comes from the smoked paprika, but also changed the meal if it wasn’t to her liking. We are also a little bit bemused that you found our range of 150+ Malt Whiskies “disappointing”. We can see that you are an avid TripAdvisor reviewer with over 300 reviews to your name. This would imply to us that you are well travelled and lead us to assume that you are also well educated, which challenges the fact that you would part with over £50 on a meal that did not meet your expectations without mentioning a thing to anyone at the time. We appreciate that we operate in a subjective business and welcome feedback from our guests, our team are extremely friendly and approachable and capable of dealing with the few guest complaints that we get. It is a shame that you did not give us the opportunity to address your dissatisfaction while you were here, but instead chose to use TripAdvisor as your forum, we would recommend in the future that you actually took the time to engage with the people who are serving you, chances are they will be happy to help and you will enjoy a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Having read some of the reviews here, thought I'd stayed at the wrong hotel, some nonsense written.
Just back from 4 nights walking WHW, last night in this lovely hotel. Dinner, beer and breakfast first class, room, in hotel but I have stayed in the bunkhouses before, was excellent, and packed lunch was a treat.
Staff were first class and couldn't do enough for you, it's obvious the staff get on, good management style. I will return

Room Tip: No issues, all rooms nice, bunk rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Good location, and reasonable price. We stayed in the cabins, very basic but does the job. Only 2 showers for the whole campsite, would have been good to have a couple more. On the edge of the loch, very pretty location but lots of midges, protection is a must!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by a rude man who was working behind the bar. We stayed in the camping cabins which, although spacious, had gaps in the doors allowing the midges in. The linen smelt nice and they were clean but the attitude of the staff and the lack of toilets and showers put a dampener on our stay (to say the least). Every other place that we stayed on the WHW I have reviewed as excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Jen, thanks for taking the time to feedback. As I mentioned on the phone, we are very sorry that your welcome was not up to the usual high standard, and will follow up with the team member involved regarding this. With regards to toilets and showers, there are 2 toilets available 24 hours and a further 7 available from 7am to 11pm in the hotel. We have a new shower block with a further 4 showers which is just awaiting sign off for gas and we hope for this to be up and running from the end of August. Once again apologies that we fell short of your expectations, but I can assure you this is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Very clean and tidy place with excellent food, great selection of drinks and absolutely stunning views everywhere you look. The staff were absolutely second to one. Everything reasonably priced too. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
10.5 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
13.7 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
184 reviews
13.4 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
688 reviews
14.3 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
13 km away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: ₹ 6,245 - ₹ 9,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing