We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Having read some of the reviews here, thought I'd stayed at the wrong hotel, some nonsense written.
Just back from 4 nights walking WHW, last night in this lovely hotel. Dinner, beer and breakfast first class, room, in hotel but I have stayed in the bunkhouses before, was excellent, and packed lunch was a treat.
Staff were first class and couldn't do enough for you, it's obvious the staff get on, good management style. I will return

Room Tip: No issues, all rooms nice, bunk rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Good location, and reasonable price. We stayed in the cabins, very basic but does the job. Only 2 showers for the whole campsite, would have been good to have a couple more. On the edge of the loch, very pretty location but lots of midges, protection is a must!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by a rude man who was working behind the bar. We stayed in the camping cabins which, although spacious, had gaps in the doors allowing the midges in. The linen smelt nice and they were clean but the attitude of the staff and the lack of toilets and showers put a dampener on our stay (to say the least). Every other place that we stayed on the WHW I have reviewed as excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Jen, thanks for taking the time to feedback. As I mentioned on the phone, we are very sorry that your welcome was not up to the usual high standard, and will follow up with the team member involved regarding this. With regards to toilets and showers, there are 2 toilets available 24 hours and a further 7 available from 7am to 11pm in the hotel. We have a new shower block with a further 4 showers which is just awaiting sign off for gas and we hope for this to be up and running from the end of August. Once again apologies that we fell short of your expectations, but I can assure you this is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Very clean and tidy place with excellent food, great selection of drinks and absolutely stunning views everywhere you look. The staff were absolutely second to one. Everything reasonably priced too. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The service was the issue. It is a reasonably priced hotel but when we went to the restaurant (which is visible through the bar) 3 of the party ordered from the restaurant menu but 1 wanted to order from the bar menu. This wasn't allowed and despite requesting so that the family could eat together - we ended up with one person not eating at all. All a but jobsworth and not customer focussed. Not the staffs fault - they just didn't feel able to change the rules imposed. A shame as reasonably priced and the views are great. Breakfast was pretty disappointing too. It wouldn't take much to make this place great

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for highlighting the fact that we do not serve food from the bar menu in our restaurant. Hopefully this will prevent guests trying to order bar food in the restaurant in the future. Fortunately most guests appreciate the fact that we offer both a casual dining menu in the Bothy Bar and a more formal dining experience in our full service Purple Stag restaurant, and are able to make a choice of where to eat. Slightly awkward that you felt the need to blame us for your family not being in agreement on whether to eat in the bar or the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
13.7 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
182 reviews
10.5 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
13.4 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
687 reviews
13 km away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
737 reviews
14.1 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: ₹ 6,225 - ₹ 9,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing