We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Snow topped Ben Cruachan as backdrop for Ballimore Farm Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snow topped Ben Cruachan as backdrop for Ballimore Farm Estate
The Baron's House at Ballimore Farm Estate Ballimore House, Cottage and Greenhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Snow topped Ben Cruachan as backdrop for Ballimore Farm Estate
The Baron's House at Ballimore Farm Estate
Ballimore House, Cottage and Greenhouse
The very comfortable library
Dining for 20 people or more
The upstairs lounge with terrace
The Green Room
Loch Tromlee
The Kitchen
Master bedroom bathroom
View over Ballimore Farm Estate
The 20meter swimming pool
Breakfast area
The Pine Room
The upstairs Lounge
The Japanese Room with en-suite
The Japanese Room
The Terrace off the upstairs Lounge
The Blue Room (twin)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kilchrenan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen L
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely stay at this very well equipped huge house in idyllic surroundings. Huge living spaces and nice pool and great walks around the estate. Great for big groups. A good drive to the main road but worth it for the amazing views. Lovely family dogs hover round the front door so you might want to be aware if you have dog phobic party members. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctm19
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are an extended family who stayed on the Ballimore Estate in June '16. Our group included grandparents, parents, four kids between the ages of 4 and 7, people from Scotland, and people from the USA. We all had an incredible time. The house is lovely - with grand proportions, beautiful fixtures/finishes and nice amenities. We particularly enjoyed the huge kitchen and dining area and the cozy library. The bedrooms were also great - each had its own bathroom attached, which increased convenience and comfort for our large group. Kids especially enjoyed the indoor pool. But as nice as the house was, it was really the outdoors that set Ballimore apart. Right outside your door are lovely hill walks, ancient historical sites, highland cattle, a loch with an island, huge trees and just the most incredible views. It's like living in a landscape painting of the highlands. We took advantage of the setting with lots of walks, exploring, fishing and (in the childrens' case) playing all over the property, but someone could be just as happy sitting on the terrace and enjoying the views! The house is also well situated in an area of Scotland that was fun to explore - we had an outstanding meal at the Taynuilt Hotel nearby and enjoyed fish from the Inverawe Smokery. We also visited Inverary Castle and went into Oban several times. One of the highlights of our trip was a tour to the nearby islands of Mull, Staffa and Iona. So there is a lot to do outside the property itself. Finally, I can't leave the review without saying a nice word about our hosts Niall and Johanna as well - friendlier and more helpful people you couldn't find. All in all the visit was a true once in a lifetime holiday and we highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Best wishes to all the family, Jo, Niall & kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone R
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where the horizon is more green than blue!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Ballimore for 5 nights with our group. We were 9 people who love trekking and we have never felt short of room as the main villa of the estate (there are another 2 small cottages too) is really enormous! Lots of sofas where to read, library too, huge kitchen with 3 ovens and microwave, very well equipped for large groups, and a plot land surrounding the place where ", one of us, said 'the horizon is not blue but green", and a so relaxing indoor and long swimming pool to rest after walking.
The estate is a bit outside the main village but we have rented a van, so no problem at all. The farm estate and its nature, including funny and picturesque highland cows, is so beautiful and peaceful that "feeling lost turns into an unforgettable experience"! An attentive host will welcome you. Thanks hosts Johanna and Nialls!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scottish nature!
Liked least: Some rain!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you Simone it was a pleasure having you as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing