We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Green Room - CLOSED

The Green Room
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 5
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For the last two years The Green Room has been a unique spring and summer tea room that offers visitors Carradale's two greatest gifts - traditional hospitality and stunning views. Now Heather, our manager, is moving on to see the world so the tea room will close on the 16th September. From October 3rd 2014 The Green Room will be available as a self-catering holiday let. See the web site for details. The Green Room is perched on a cliff by Carradale harbour and looks across the Kilbrannan Sound to a panoramic view of the Isle of Arran. In the foreground below lies Eilean Carrach, a small island resting place for gulls, cormorants, oyster catchers, and shags. Seals and wild goats are frequent visitors and now and then an otter can be seen. Dolphins and Minke whales occasionally pass by and, when mackerel gather, gannets put on their astounding diving displays. We keep binoculars at hand for a better view. Or you can watch the fishing boats coming in and out of the harbour, passing yachts, or even a submarine. All this action takes place within the vast kaleidoscope of Scottish weather, the chief subject of William McTaggart's Carradale paintings.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

The most stunning cottage with spectacular views.

Comfortable, homely and practically perfect in every way.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Limey999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2014

The Green Room has been a wonderful addition to the attractions of Carradale for the last two years - a fantastic location, lovely home made meals and delicious home baking, all presented with great service and a lovely welcome. We're so sad to see it close but wish Heather the very best of luck and success in her future career.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet_M_13Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We were so sorry to hear the Green Room was closing as a tea room, we will miss Heather's cakes. BUT! We are very excited that it's opening up as a holiday let! We have just booked a week in October and can't wait to have the observatory all to ourselves. We're hoping for a perfect romantic get-away.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MadelineBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a pleasant surprise this beautiful cafe was! Delicious handmade food, yummy bakes, and an all around lovely service in one of the nicest surroundings in the area! You could spend hours in the conservatory trying to spot seal, people walking about in arran or, as the spotting board says, a rare sighting of batman :). Highly recommend, great sweet place

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only had drinks and cakes but they were good value and very welcome. The Green Room as a setting though is outstanding. The top floor is like a comfortable lounge with sofas, piano, games etc but with telescopes and binoculars to look out across the water. On the ground floor is a conservatory again with binoculars to look at the fantastic views. We sat in the garden for drinks surrounded by birds and with the option of a game of croquet on the lawn!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaneC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

Carradale, Argyll and Bute
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
 
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
 
Carradale, Argyll and Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing