We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wedding of Rosie Bailey and Chris Hobson”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plane Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plane Castle The kitchen in the Manor House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Plane Castle
The kitchen in the Manor House
A snug sitting room on the ground floor of the manor House
Main Jacobean bedroom
One of the 15th century Tower bedrooms
Kitchen dining in the 15th Century Tower
The grand fire place in the 15th Century Tower with painted roof beams
One of the many bathrooms in the manor House and Tower
Twin room in the tower
Medieval banqueting hall in the Tower
Medieval banqueting hall
Dining room in the Manor
The Great Hall perfect for celebrations
View from the gardens
A wedding enjoying a pipe band
Great Hall seating area around the fireplace
Party time in the Great Hall
Wedding in the Great Hall
Set for a wedding in the courtyard (view from the battlements)
Banqueting Hall
Banqueting Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Airth, Falkirk District, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
bobbyboy1...
2 reviews
“Wedding of Rosie Bailey and Chris Hobson”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a fabulous three days at the wonderful Plane Castle celebrating my daughters wedding. We were 18 adults and 4 children and we had an amazing time from beginning to end. The accommodation was great and the wedding in the Tower and reception in the main hall was superb! Sonja and Steve were so helpful and a great source of information and advice. I am 54 now and these days I am hard to please, but this was the best value for money I can remember in a long time. The whole thing was magical and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I'm already thinking of going back for my 60th celebrations!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Liked least: Cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our very own castle for three days”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our family (2 adults and 4 school age kids) stayed in the Tower at Plane Castle for 3 nights in late June. The stay was absolutely perfect! The kids had plenty of space (indoors and outside) to explore without having to worry about disturbing neighbors in a hotel, and they particularly enjoyed our meals in the medieval dining hall. Steve and Sonja were terrific hosts and helped us with both on-site questions and insights into the local area. The kids keep asking when we will go back to 'our' castle ... need to plan our next trip to Scotland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of staying in a medieval castle - from start to finish
Liked least: Only suggestion would be to add a clothes dryer to the Tower
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
It was a pleasure to see the children having such a wonderful time which we hope will stay in their memories for many years to come:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess8...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“simply magical”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Plean Castle for a Hen Do and it was simply magical. You just cannot beat this venue.

The Castle itself is stunning, really spacious and a real talking point – it just oozes character. The owners are also really lovely and stopped by to make sure that we had everything we needed (including hangover relief for our Hen).

We took part in the mini-Highland Games which was fabulous fun and our instructor was great – I can imagine trying to organise 18 women with hangovers can’t have been easy.

Would I stay again? In a heartbeat! The only way this place could be more magical is if they add a hot tub.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for you kind review. We have been thinking about a hot tub in the gardens but have never been sure whether there would be demand for it. Would love to see you all back again one day. Hioe the wedding was great
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyIpsw...
Ipswich, MA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fairy Tale vacation”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Plane Castle. My only complaint is that we had to leave! Sonja and Steve were amazing hosts, and soooo helpful. They made our trip so much more fun by pointing out local landmarks and history. We rented the manor house, but we were fortunate that we got to tour the tower before the next guests arrived. I'd love to rent out the whole place for a larger family party.

This facility has a full kitchen with more dishes than you'd ever need! We cooked big meals and were able to relax and enjoy at our own pace. The bedrooms are very comfortable. Make sure you hang out in the great hall--it's gorgeous. Also, don't miss taking a glass of wine to the gardens, which are beautiful.

This is an excellent location for "home base". It's within easy distance of Stirling (15 minutes or so) and Edinburgh (3/4 hour) and the area is gorgeous and has wonderful pastoral charm. Thanks again, Steve and Sonja, for a fantastic luxury vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stepping back in time!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we would love nothing more to see you again at the castle:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinglePri...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Princess Hollies castle hen doo ”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had the most amazing weekend at Plane Castle. Sonja and Steve were phenomenal hosts. We had a murder mystery, sports day and dinner disco.
The setting is indescribably perfect. The castle is steeped in history, but still manages to be as welcoming as your own living room!!
The bedrooms are luxurious, the kitchen is fantastic and there is more than enough space to disappear for a moment of tranquility.
I highly recommend this place for any and all weeks/weekends away!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope Holy has the most amazing wedding:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing