We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Oasis”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dorwil Cottage

Kitchen which faces east
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory Front of the cottage looking West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory
Front of the cottage looking West
Front of the cottage looking from the West
Kitchen
Small toilet
Dining area
Ensuite area
Bedroom looking East
Ensuite double shower
Dining area looking towards the conservatory
Bedroom
Lounge
Front view looking from the North
Garden area to the South
Front view looking from the West
Garden area to the North
Garden area to the West
Main driveway looking to the West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BoulderPa...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The cottage is immaculate and centraly located. We enjoyed the local food, especialy Bladbairdie Restaurant. We were able to do laundry and ralax in the middle of a whirlwind Europe trip. A true gem with wonderful hosts and great location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful charming grounds with privacy and a great view.
Liked least: can't think of what we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce b
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a charming, spacious, comfortable, well furnished and spotlessly clean cottage. ideally situated for visits to many tourist attractions in this part of Scotland, eg. Edinburgh, Glasgow, Falkirk Wheel, Lanark World Heritage Site, Newtongrange Mining Museum, Royal Yacht Britannia and Bo'ness Railway etc.
Charming and helpful owners, welcome provisions and flowers were much appreciated.
Highly recommended. We had a lovely week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennVM73
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superlative place to stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I have multiple chemical sensitivities, (which means I get ill mentally and/or physically when exposed to things with scent and specific cleaning products), and finding a place to stay for my trip to Scotland was a nightmare. A friend recommended Bruce and Dorothy to me and I immediately set out to talk to them. They were amazingly patient and accommodating. They did their best to understand and meet my needs. They did their level best to clean the home in a manner that made it as safe as possible. (The mattresses couldn't be made safe so, if you have MCS, I'd recommend a mattress cover & your own bedding.) Other than that, the cottage was charming and delightful. My friend and I absolutely loved Bruce and Dorothy, the location and the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view out the front window, Bruce & Dorothy, the feel of having a home to come back to at the end of the day
Liked least: It was a little out of the way. Totally worth it though.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Cottage was super. It had an on-suite as well as another toilet. Everything at hand. Bruce and Dorothy are very helpful and a lovely couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: There wasn't anything about my stay I can say That I disliked.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHBE
West Lothian, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we discovered Dorwil Cottage.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in many different self catering cottages over the years and Dorwil is one of the best! The cottage is lovely - it's well equipped, clean, bright and spacious, set in wonderful grounds. A big bonus was being able to bring our dog with us, and she was in her element running around the grounds! Bruce and Dorothy are wonderful hosts, attentive, friendly but also respectful of our privacy. We can thoroughly recommend Dorwil Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being genuinely dog friendly!
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing