We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star! Excellent cottage and facilities.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
professor...
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star! Excellent cottage and facilities.”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Albany Cottage is better than the pictures show; great attention to detail has been applied throughout to the facilities available, decor, cleanliness and some nice additional touches such as dressing gowns, slippers, shower & bath gels, wi-fi and some landline phone usage included (as mobile signal throughout the islands is patchy). The cottage benefits from great natural light and the views are fantastic. The location is central for seeing both Lewis and Harris and only a short drive to Tarbert for shops, hotels etc. Couldn't fault it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2018
Hi Professor! Thank you for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind comments. Good to hear that you like all the facilities and additional touches at Albany Cottage. It's great to have sea views and be well located for seeing all that Harris has to offer. Really glad you like the island and hope we can welcome you back to Albany Cottage some time again. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Location good, facilities in house excellent. Everything is 'John Lewis' so good quality. Helpful info in cottage, and kind of owners to check that we were ok.
We loved South Harris and Bosta beach on Lewis. Nice walk up to Scalpay lighthouse. Minibus tour was great too. Cath picked us up from Tarbet and we had a day with her. She showed us beautiful beaches, Leverburgh and wonderful 'croft 36,' not to mention the weaving vist to Rebecca at Northton and the Harris Tweed exhibition about Marion Campbell - most interesting.
Weather was hot all week, got sunburnt. Wellies, coats etc definitely never came out of the car. Ferry from Leverburgh to Berneray wonderful, we did it twice, once as foot passengers then as we left 4 days later with car. A great holiday. Thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Hi John, Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind comments. It sounds like you had a great time with fine weather. I'm so glad you enjoyed Albany Cottage, and had all the facilities you needed. You certainly made the most of your visit to Harris by getting out and about, and seeing the whole island. Good to hear that the Tour was well enjoyed. I hope that we can welcome you both back to Albany Cottage soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J T
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great base for the Harris holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. It had everything we required and more. The attention to detail was remarkable with printed and annotated instructions for all the facilities and also a comprehensive folder of local walks and other activities. Martin made contact early in the holiday to check we had everything we needed. Although we had a week of glorious weather the external drying room will prove extremely useful in less clement conditions!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Hello JT (and C), Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to know that you had everything you needed at Albany Cottage. It sounds like you got out and about and had a fantastic time with really good weather. Early June is certainly a good time to visit the Isle of Harris. Do come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackPacke...
1 review
“Comfortable and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Provided with easy to follow directions to the cottage which is a maximum of a 10 minute drive from the ferry terminal. Everything you could wish for contained there, lots of information on places to visit and things to do. Sat reading in the sunshine on the bench at the rear of the property, slept well in a very comfortable bed. Great trip all round.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your kind comments. Glad to hear you had full advantage of the lovely Isle of Harris sunshine - it makes all the difference! I'm pleased you found everything to your liking in Albany Cottage, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon. There's always plenty to see and do in the Hebrides! Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattalapp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A really lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Everything in there has been thought of perfectly, from clear instructions for all the appliances, right down to the availability of binoculars. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Hi WattalappamWarrior, Than you very much for your excellent review. It sounds like you had a great time staying at Albany Cottage. It's good to know you had everything you needed and, as you discovered, the binoculars are useful for the wonderful wildlife sightings. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing