We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful situation, comfy cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
North Harris hills under low cloud
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Harris hills under low cloud
Village view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
North Harris hills under low cloud
Village view
Entrance hall
Spacious, bright sitting room
Spacious, bright sitting room
Spacious, bright sitting  room
L-shaped kitchen/sitting room
View from front rooms - sitting room, double bedroom and twin bedroom
View from front rooms - sitting room, double bedroom and twin bedroom
Twin bedroom with sea & mountain view
Double room with sea & mountain views
Ground floor,double bedroom
View from bedrooms and sitting room
Spring 2016
Village walk to the seashore
Aerial view of Ardhasaig
Peaceful village view looking south towards Luskentyre and Isle of Taransay
Snow capped North Harris hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ardhasaig, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ishbel M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful situation, comfy cottage!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely week in this beautiful spot with stunning views over the bay and glorious sunsets ( weather permitting!) The cottage is well situated, with a licensed grocer and petrol station across the road. Ardhashaig House Hotel a short walk away, offers a 4 course fine dining experience, which is very pleasant.
The cottage kitchen is very well equipped for self catering and there is also a washer/dryer and dishwasher.
The McAskill family who own the property couldn't have been more helpful, many thanks to you all!
One word of advice to travellers who don't know the islands, all shops and petrol stations are closed on a Sunday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongTallS...
Hebrides
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in an ideal location for visiting all the many attractions, natural, historical and just-plain-fascinating, of both Harris and Lewis - beautiful beaches, historical and pre-historical sites and, simply, the scenery.
The cottage is well-furnished, well-equipped and, in general terms, very comfortable. Bedding, towels etc. are high quality. The kitchen is as well-equipped as one expects from a self-catering property. The dishwasher and laundry washer-drier were bonuses. We visited in mid-March, and would never complain about the weather, anywhere, but it was a little difficult trying to dry damp clothes!
My only particular criticism (or, rather, alert) would be for anyone, like me, who has restricted mobility: the interior of the cottage is well laid out, particularly the (upper) "ground floor", and caused no problems. However, outside is a different matter. The entrance drive is a VERY steep slope, parking is at the bottom, and the entrance door is back up the slope. I found it hard walking up with a stick, and very hard walking down, and would question that aspect of accessibility.
Beyond that, everything was fine, the owner very friendly and a good holiday was enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelH1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Harris is an outstandingly beautiful island; this cottage an ideal location from which to explore. Lovely views and spectacular sunsets. Comfortable accomodation with added advantage of a little village store and petrol station just across the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Cottage”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Clisham Cottage is set in the most beautiful location with mountain views and sunset illuminated sea views. The cottage is really well equipped and the living area/ kitchen diner was just perfect for our group. Donalda gave us a really warm Harris welcome, showed us round the property and provided essential information for our stay to be as comfortable as possible. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfy with the downstairs double room also featuring an en-suite shower room. I would definitely recommend Clisham Cottage and hopefully if I am able to return to Harris and Lewis in the near future I would love to use this spectacularly set cottage as my base. Perfect for me since I love travelling with my dog and Donalda stressed that dogs are also very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the upstairs living area and kitchen and pet friendly
Liked least: steep driveway was minor issue for my mum who has mobility issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetsuk
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Clisham Cottage by myself for a week, as I wanted to take photographs in the local area. The cottage is perfectly located in North Harris, with easy access to the rest of the island. Nothing is too far away. Having the shop and petrol station so close was a real bonus for those last minute essentials. The house is very well equipped and cosy, and very well thought out.
I spent a lot of time looking out of the window at the view, which changes dramatically according to the weather. There are walks available from the door and good local services such as tearoom a etc in close proximity. I had looked at many cottages when planning my trip and think I got the best!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing