We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highlight of our year”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Sea cliffs from the cottage back garden Cottage & garden (in March)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Sea cliffs from the cottage back garden
Cottage & garden (in March)
Recently fitted kitchen - view 1
Recently fitted kitchen - view 2
Plenty room for everyone round the table!
Relaxed dining room adjoining kitchen
Spacious sunny living room with sea and mountain views
Kingsize double room with sea and mountain views
Twin room (can be made up as double)
Single room
Recently fitted bathroom, shower over bath
Table tennis shed in garden grounds
Snow at Wild Orchid Cottage, December
The peaceful Ullinish Peninsula (and Wild Orchid Cottage)
Idyllic Coral Beach - near Dunvegan
Oronsay Island - you can walk there from the Cottage when the tide is out
Snow-dusted Macleods Tables from Ullinish
Wild Orchid Cottage garden at the back
Wild Orchid Cottage garden at the front
Autumn sun on 'The Hill Road' from Struan to Portree
Walking the Beinn Deargs from Sligachan
The magnificent Cuillin from the Cottage garden
Wintry looking Cuillin from Ullinish (December)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Struan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tom P
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our year”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My brother, three friends and I all had an incredibile time at the cottage. If it was closer we'd DEFINITELY come back (it took us ten hours of driving).

The views were breathtaking, there were great walks around, the cottage was perfect for us - a little fire/stove, the beds were comfy, so were the sofas (on which we spent most of our time!): we couldn't have asked for more!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2013
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and took the time to submit such a lovely review. Thank you, and I hope you will come back sometime in the future in spite of the epic journey to get here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is set in the perfect location with breath taking views towards Loch Harport and the Cuillins. It is in an ideal location for getting to all the best attractions on Skye and doing some local walks. The cottage is dog friendly and the garden is very dog friendly. Our spaniel exhausted himself chasing after the smell of rabbits in the garden. The cottage is typical of a goodish holiday cottage rather than a "home from home" and the furnishings reflected this. The kitchen is very well equipped. We would stay there again because of the excellent location and the views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor state of living room furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back to Wild Orchid Cottage. Good news - the living room furniture is being renewed in December and the double bedroom is also being upgraded over the winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltgirl
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the soul”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Wild Orchid cottage last weekend and cannot praise it highly enough. A cosy get away in the most stunning of locations. We are regular Skye visitors and love it at any time of year and so enjoyed our November break in Ullinish. The Cuillins had a perfect dusting of snow and it was wonderful to watch the clouds swirl over them from the comfort of the living room.
The cottage is deceptively large and had everything we could need and more. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed to eat in every night at the big dining table. Oh and the bottle of claret left for us was very quaffable with our venison from the Portree butchers!
It was a bit too chilly to play pool and ping pong in the shed or make use of the two picnic tables, but with a large selection of books, games and jigsaws in the living room, we were far from bored. There is also free wifi for those that don't want to leave the modern world behind.
Wonderful walks down to the causeway and the broch from the cottage and a cute wee honesty box for fresh free range eggs close by.
A perfect cottage to relax and enjoy the beauties of Skye. Still feeling relaxed and refreshed after our lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your short break at Wild Orchid Cottage, and we hope we can welcome you back again sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kangeroo7...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Wild Orchid Cottage in September 2013. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped and perfect for us. I loved the ever changing views towards the Cuillin and took countless photographs of the same view. We used the cottage as a base to tour the north half of the island, and it was perfectly situated for us to do that. I loved the quietness and seclusion of the cottage and the dog loved having a large garden to run in. We even managed a trip to the 3 Chimneys while we were there, which was a highlight.

We knew we were going to arrive late, and the light was left on for us, so it was easy to find. A great little porch area for coats and boots meant we could leave our wet gear there. We never did venture down the garden to play table tennis!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2013
just a wee typo to correct...it was September 2012!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonieV79
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
We're pleased you enjoyed the quiet of our wee corner of Skye.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing