We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star location, 2 star most other things...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star location, 2 star most other things...”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here back in April and were blessed with wondeful weather.
First thing to say is that this is a wonderful location, the views across the Sound of Sleat and up Loch Hourn are spectacular...so 10/10 for that.
We stayed in a 'suite' across from the main hotel building, private with uniniterrupted, magnificent views but not particularly spacious. The general feel of the suite was that it was a bit tired, in need of a makeover. Maybe the hotel has that planned for next season...
We also had Dinner on our first night which was a significant disappointment - mix ups with what we ordered and then fish being undercooked meant that we had dinner in stages i.e. at no stage were we eating the same course together! My undercooked main course came back roasted to within an inch of its life and covered in salt, but by that time the complaining was becoming embarrasing! I did complain and received an apology but no offer of recompense, I did however negotiate a small discount on check out...I should have negotiated more!
Breakfast was good, if a little slow and numerous breakfast items had run out (sausages, hilarious!?), but do guests really want to listen to the twee highland music on loop first thing in the morning?
One redeeming featue was dinner in the bar on our second night - first rate, enthusiastic service from the bar staff and very good food (all from same kitchen as dinner!).
So, disappointing in terms of accommodation and restaurant - really felt that we didn't receive value for money.
My recommendation would be stay somewhere else (e.g. excellent Peinmore House near Portree) and come here for a bar meal one night and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcsmithScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    111
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
76
258
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just back from spending 2 nights at this delightful hotel in southern Skye. Beautiful location (even in the rain) with lovely views over to Knoydart. Our room was in the main hotel building and appeared to be one of the larger rooms at the front - comfortable, attractive decor and plenty of space. Furnishings all original to give it lots of character. Arran Arromatics toiletries a nice touch. We peeked in some of the other rooms and although a bit smaller they all looked good. Public areas also very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had dinner in the dining room both nights as on DBB rate (£90 per person) and the food was superb both in quality and presentation. Only comment I would make was that the menu was virtually the same both nights with only 3 choices - Ok for 2 nights but not so good if longer stay. Breafast was also excellent. Mhairi our waitress was friendly and v welcoming as were all the other staff. We had a drink in the bar but didn't eat there - there seemed to be a lots of atmosphere and well used by locals
Perfect choice for our first visit to Skye and would definitely recommend.
Try the whisky tasting!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijoy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent three nights in this charming and comfortable small hotel. We stayed in the suites which were super; peaceful and spacious with super views across the Sound of Sleat. Downstairs the small and tastefully decorated lounge was equipped with TV and tea and coffee making equipment. Adjacent to this was a beautifully decorated bathroom with everything necessary for a luxurious bath. Upstairs was a large, and again attractively furnished bedroom with extensive views.
Breakfasts were excellent and dinners at the pub - "an praban" - relaxed and enjoyable. Lots of locals frequent the place so one gets a real taste for the area and so much more personal than a large hotel.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I went to the Eilean Iarmain with my family for a Sunday bar meal. My family have always been fans of the hotel, as we come from a gaelic background and my father has had alot to do with the gaelic shoots there.
It is a friendly place, however the food ruined the experience.
I ordered scampi and chips, and when it arrived the plate was covered in salt, now coming from a family of cooks, I am well aware you cook with salt however, you never add more salt, you leave it to the individual to decide how much they want. I ate 2 pieces of scampi and a couple of chips and by this point I was feeling sick with the taste. The salt ruined the scampi's flavour!
I am from Skye and I think it's a real shame to see such a beautiful place ruined by a meal, after years of eating there I don't think I ever felt so disatisfied as I did yesterday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay11633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the moment you walk in the front door the atmosphere is very relaxing and comfortable.

The location is very tranquil and there is a lovely walk to the end of the village.

There is an excellent gallery space, boutique and whisky museum alongside the hotel, together with the cosiest pub in the Highlands, 'an praban', which serves great pub food which complements the fine dining in the hotel next door.

The staff, headed by Flora when we were there, were both friendly and professional.

Altogether, we would recommend this hotel to anyone who expects terrific service, excellent food and a good night's sleep; all in an idyllic location.

First class.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macleod1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
38.0 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
59.9 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
63.9 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.9 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
38.0 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
38.1 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eilean Iarmain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eilean Iarmain

Property: Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Address: Isle Ornsay Hotel, Sleat IV43 8QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,550 - ₹ 25,361
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eilean Iarmain 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional hotel, in an idyllic setting, with spectacular views across the sound of Sleat to the Knoydart Hills, retains it old-world charm giving each guest a truly genuine highland welcome from the moment you arrive. People have been coming here for over a hundred years, drawn by a love of Skye and its history, culture and language. The hotel is open all year enabling visitors to experience Skye in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eilean Iarmain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing