We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY expensive hotel in a bad location that doesn't live up to its hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had had a bad travel day getting onto the Isle of Skye because the ferries were shut down due to high winds. When we finally found our hotel, there was no one at reception and I had to go searching for someone to help us. He got us our room key but didn't offer to help us up the stairs with our bags.

The room was fine with a big poster bed, but the bathroom had PLASTIC glass ups in plastic wrap - righto out of Motel 6. a nice towel heater, but they only turned on the boiler if you asked and then apparently turned it off soon thereafter.

The breakfasts (included) were pretty good, if yo could find a server.

I had a new shirt that seemed to be giving me a rash, so asked them to wash it (it was fleece, so no special testament required - I just wanted it washed in hot water). The desk clerk said that there would be no charge, but when our bill came at the end they charged us 20Lbs for it. Outrageous!!!

If you're staying on Skye - stay up around Portree or you'll do what we had to do every day which was drive to or thru Portree to get to the spots we wanted to visit.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had a great 2 nights over there. The people were great. We had a lovely dinner and the service was good. We will come again for sure.
My sister and I had a lovely stay in the jacuzzi. Please make sure next time you have plastic champagne glasses. That would have made it awesome ;-)

Room Tip: best view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauraRdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

There was nothing very much wrong with our one night stay but having sampled excellent hospitality at much less grand establishments on our trip through the Hebrides the idea was that this would be a lap of luxury establishment for our last night in Scotland. The room was fine but dinner was only OK and was definitely marred by the fact that all of the staff seemed undertrained. There was no smoothness, let alone sparkle in the service and any character seemed to have been left at the door. Indeed the most perplexing thing was that any simple request seemed to prompt a puzzled air. A second glass of red wine took two requests and was then brought by a third person, who presumably was dedicated to wines.

As in many adverse reviews, the experience was also clouded by a one-off gripe. My wife made the telephone booking and explained that it was to be a little treat on my birthday. She simply asked that we be allocated a nice table, but was assured that more would be done: possibly a little cake. In the event nothing at all was done and we did not have one of the better tables (e g window seats). On checking out, the receptionist hoped we had enjoyed having Happy Birthday sung to us by the staff. My wife said that hadn't happened and the reaction of "but the duty manager has noted that it did happen" left us wondering whether we were being disbelieved. Since we only had two glasses of wine and a bottle of water to pay for, one might have thought that a little gesture might have been in order. Sadly, no.

I would summarise the hotel and dining room as having pretensions (and prices to match) but being in fact no more than a comfortable small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful rooms. Wonderful food. Wonderful location. But technology junkies like me can't use wifi reliably at all here or mobile phones. Luggage a bit of pain to carry and tvs need an update. Good detox I guess. Dinner is super. Come again !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Welshmaninbeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Lovely hotel in a quiet part of Southern Skye. Rooms are tastefully decorated, staff all very friendly. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and good gin/whisky selection in the bar. Expensive, but predictable for a rural hotel. Would recommend as a luxurious treat!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
5.3 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
1.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
36.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
37.4 km away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
36.9 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range: ₹ 8,779 - ₹ 30,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing