We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved feeling at home here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our stay was for two nights. We found this hotel to be very welcoming. We arrived a little early so our room was not ready. We were offered a pot of tea as we made ourselves comfortable in front of the fire in the common room. Our room was lovely and plenty big for our needs. The five course dinner was excellent on both nights. My husband said it was the best venison he ever ate. Lovely presentation of the food. The breakfast served was also very good. The staff at the hotel was very friendly. The only small downside is that there is not an elevator/lift in the hotel but they were more than happy to help us take the luggage up the stairs. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator/lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trvln4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed in the Duidsdale for two nights before our wedding (at Eiliean Donan Castle) in March this year. We had a fantastic stay here and highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is gorgeous, with a beautiful lounge and stunning views. The staff we so warm, accommodating and professional – they looked after us and our guests (we were quite a large party) wonderfully. The food here is delicious – even the most fussy of our guests was impressed! We went to the sister hotel (the Skeabost) for our wedding reception as that is a bit larger. I cannot recommend these hotels highly enough – really exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I recently took a group of 12 guests to Duisdale House and we couldn't have had a better stay!
From our initial enquiry to all of the additional details we required everything was absolutely perfect. My guests came from all over the UK and are all hospitality professionals and every guest could not have been more complimentary.
We dined in the restaurant both nights and the service and food was outstanding. This is a restaurant which is definitely worth a detour to dine in. The hotel itself has been finished to an extremely high standard but what really made the visit special was the staff, every member of staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was any trouble. I really have to give a shout out to the team Morag, Michael, Neil, Rowena and Kai each one of them individually made our stay unforgettable. I also have to say that the sister hotel Torravaig is equally stunning and Rosemary has the place running like a well oiled machine. A special mention also to Naomi at the Torravaig who even stayed up late to make sure we got in with no trouble,above and beyond expectations!
I can't wait to get back to Skye and stay here again! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WhiskyWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear WhiskyWhisky,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad your enjoyed your experience at Duisdale and Toravaig House Hotels.

We are very proud of our team who try their best to exceed our guests expectations at all levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We were disappointed with our stay here, expecting more from what they advertised themselves. It was just a very tired old house with very small rooms. The staff went out of their way to give us a pleasant experience and the other guests were very friendly.
But the service in the dining room was awful. Our server at breakfast couldn't have cared less about what he was doing. He forgot everything.
Overall, the place is disorganized. Thank goodness we were out all day and once returned were able to enjoy a nice dinner and simply say that this was just part of the experience. And then we discovered that this was really the best hotel in Isle of Skye. Makes you wonder.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tanis351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Tanis351,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Duisdale. We are glad you enjoyed a nice dinner and that you found our staff pleasant and friendly.

We have a large variety of room categories, ranging from spacious Superior Sea View rooms to the smaller Petite Double rooms nevertheless they are all furnished and decorated to the same high quality and standard, updated every Winter.

We apologise if you found your waiter reconfirming your order with you at breakfast was an inconvenience.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed at Duisdale house with my daughter.The room had waste paper bin full of makeup remover pads,hair and old slippers! Hair in plug hole.False insincere service from reception staff,Sweet kindly waiting and cleaning staff but lacking experience or supervision. Wartime camaraderie in the dining room amongst guests.Wrong items brought,cutlery missing,massive waits for food.I heard fawlty towers mentioned 6 times!
Whilst a vegetarian meal had been booked for 7 some weeks previously, at 7.40pm a sweet waitress came to table saying"they've nearly printed the menu".Grandiose menu "candied walnuts"-just dried walnuts no candying in sight.Retired to room -crash bang from kitchen below for 2 more hours and daughter woken by same at 6 am.I met no guest who was satisfied with this hotel -very overpriced-how did they win PRIZES?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tr0wse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear tr0wse,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Duisdale House Hotel; we are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your visit.

We welcome your feedback and shall take on board your comments as we aim to provide a high level of service to all of our guests.

Kind Regards,
The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
5.3 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
1.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
36.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
37.4 km away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
36.9 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range: ₹ 8,924 - ₹ 30,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing