We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
378
160
90
52
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
160
90
52
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfour postergarden suitechart roomisle of skyeposter bedthe fine dining menuthird floorbeautiful hotelsister hotelevery member of staffdining roombar menuporridgeenjoyable stayboth nightspublic rooms
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed in the Duidsdale for two nights before our wedding (at Eiliean Donan Castle) in March this year. We had a fantastic stay here and highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is gorgeous, with a beautiful lounge and stunning views. The staff we so warm, accommodating and professional – they looked after us and our guests (we were quite a large party) wonderfully. The food here is delicious – even the most fussy of our guests was impressed! We went to the sister hotel (the Skeabost) for our wedding reception as that is a bit larger. I cannot recommend these hotels highly enough – really exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I recently took a group of 12 guests to Duisdale House and we couldn't have had a better stay!
From our initial enquiry to all of the additional details we required everything was absolutely perfect. My guests came from all over the UK and are all hospitality professionals and every guest could not have been more complimentary.
We dined in the restaurant both nights and the service and food was outstanding. This is a restaurant which is definitely worth a detour to dine in. The hotel itself has been finished to an extremely high standard but what really made the visit special was the staff, every member of staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was any trouble. I really have to give a shout out to the team Morag, Michael, Neil, Rowena and Kai each one of them individually made our stay unforgettable. I also have to say that the sister hotel Torravaig is equally stunning and Rosemary has the place running like a well oiled machine. A special mention also to Naomi at the Torravaig who even stayed up late to make sure we got in with no trouble,above and beyond expectations!
I can't wait to get back to Skye and stay here again! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WhiskyWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear WhiskyWhisky,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad your enjoyed your experience at Duisdale and Toravaig House Hotels.

We are very proud of our team who try their best to exceed our guests expectations at all levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We were disappointed with our stay here, expecting more from what they advertised themselves. It was just a very tired old house with very small rooms. The staff went out of their way to give us a pleasant experience and the other guests were very friendly.
But the service in the dining room was awful. Our server at breakfast couldn't have cared less about what he was doing. He forgot everything.
Overall, the place is disorganized. Thank goodness we were out all day and once returned were able to enjoy a nice dinner and simply say that this was just part of the experience. And then we discovered that this was really the best hotel in Isle of Skye. Makes you wonder.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tanis351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Tanis351,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Duisdale. We are glad you enjoyed a nice dinner and that you found our staff pleasant and friendly.

We have a large variety of room categories, ranging from spacious Superior Sea View rooms to the smaller Petite Double rooms nevertheless they are all furnished and decorated to the same high quality and standard, updated every Winter.

We apologise if you found your waiter reconfirming your order with you at breakfast was an inconvenience.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed at Duisdale house with my daughter.The room had waste paper bin full of makeup remover pads,hair and old slippers! Hair in plug hole.False insincere service from reception staff,Sweet kindly waiting and cleaning staff but lacking experience or supervision. Wartime camaraderie in the dining room amongst guests.Wrong items brought,cutlery missing,massive waits for food.I heard fawlty towers mentioned 6 times!
Whilst a vegetarian meal had been booked for 7 some weeks previously, at 7.40pm a sweet waitress came to table saying"they've nearly printed the menu".Grandiose menu "candied walnuts"-just dried walnuts no candying in sight.Retired to room -crash bang from kitchen below for 2 more hours and daughter woken by same at 6 am.I met no guest who was satisfied with this hotel -very overpriced-how did they win PRIZES?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel-
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank tr0wse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear tr0wse,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Duisdale House Hotel; we are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your visit.

We welcome your feedback and shall take on board your comments as we aim to provide a high level of service to all of our guests.

Kind Regards,
The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel for our recent wedding reception, and it was perfect.

The location is simply stunning, with views over the sea and mainland in the distance. We were very fortunate with the weather during our stay, but even during a previous research visit in January the view was superb and the hotel cosy.

The food was absolutely amazing, as prepared by the head chef Brian.

The rooms are fantastic as well, and are both contemporary and classic in the feel of the decor. There was room for all of our guests, and they all felt welcomed and comfortable during their stay.

If I had one gripe, it was the difficulty at times in getting hold of staff to discuss elements of the wedding planning in the build up, which I took to be a symptom of just how popular this venue is for weddings. However, this shouldn't detract from the overall experience of this hotel, which was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Climber220815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuisdaleTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review of Duisdale House Hotel.
We are delighted to hear your wedding was perfect and you enjoyed the whole experience. It was a pleasure for us to be involved to make your special day a truly memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary celebration!

The Duisdale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews