We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with s tunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The view from the cottage
The cottage in an elevated position overlooking the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Margare19...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage with s tunning views”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in this cottage for the second time in October and once again had a lovely relaxing week.. The cottage is very clean and a real home form home being very warm and cozy. The weather was very good for autumn. The wifi is a great addition this year and we are lokking forward to returning again soon. The views from the windows are stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eaee of booking and access to the property. Owner very easy to conatct and replied to out emails immediately
Liked least: The week passd too quickly!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lithgow20...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“left for home 4 days early because the cottage was dull and very uncomfortable”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this cottage for seven days . Friday 9th October to Friday 16th October 2015. On arrival in darkness, the door had been left open for us . no contact from the key holder. When we turned on the lights fuses blew, and we had to search in the dark for fuse box, then find replacement light bulbs. The storage heaters had to be turned on to heat the place. There was a log fire place ,but it would have been helpful to have a some fuel supplied to light the fire on the the night of arrival. The sitting room was dull, uncomfortable ,and depressing . Two very old, worn and stained couches, and battered old table and wooden chairs. The couches too uncomfortable to sit on, which left only the wooden chairs which were also uncomfortable to sit on all evening.. The carpet in the sitting room was old , stained and needed hovered There was a flat screen television in the sitting room
The bed rooms were comfortable . The small kitchen, though dull, was well enough equipped . Portree and Skye did not disappoint. . The location of Brightwater Cottage was good . .:Local people friendly and helpful, good shops and amenities :; and beautiful places to drive to and enjoy the wonderful scenery.
We have visited the area many times before, and we look forward to return visits , but we would not stay at this cottage again. . We were so uncomfortable and disappointed with depressing accommodation, we stayed only 3 nights of the 7 booked and paid for. On leaving the cottage on Mon , we couldn't contact the owner or key holder to advise them we were vacating the cottage. We knocked on the neighbour's door.to ask him if he had a land line phone no for th keyholder {mobiles no signal}. The neighbour didn't have contact no , We advised him that we were leaving and house would be unoccupied . We locked door and put key through letter box. We called at the local police station to advise that the house was empty and we had been unable to contact the owner to advise of this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the interior of the property was dull and uninviting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
All phone numbers were supplied by both email at time of booking and also in welcome folder at cottage...my home phone number is also displayed outside on cottage sign. The cottage has free wifi so an email would have been an option if no mobile signal. Key holder attempted contact several times on arrival night but received no reply so had no option but to leave door unlocked as no arrival time had been given. very unfortunate about fuses blowing but fuse box is directly by front door which is well lit by street lighting.

Storage heaters are on at all times but some heat overnight so instant heaters could have been used if extra heat needed.

Refute claims that furniture is old and uncomfortable...please see previous reviews from very satisfied guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usermark8...
Insch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Went for a 3 night stay with a couple of friends from work. We were not disappointed. From booking to payment, Sue (the owner) was extremely helpful. Directions were exact and simple. We arrived on Skye early and were even allowed access before the agreed 4pm entry time. Much appreciated.

The cottage is very central but also very quiet. The cottage is well equipped, very comfortable and cosy. We cooked in the cottage every night and enjoyed a wine sitting at the fire. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cosy feel of the cottage
Liked least: There was no tin opener in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda V
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage, beautiful views.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Brightwater Cottage is a very comfortable, warm cosy cottage, nicely decorated & furnished through out. The kitchen was well equipped. Bedrooms are spacious & beds very comfortable. Views from upstairs are absolutely outstanding over the harbour & sea. Easy walk to the shops, pubs & restaurants. Convenient parking across the road from cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable, great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie R
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, well equipped and very comfortable. Short distance to the village, and absolutely wonderful sea views from the cottage and garden. Perfect.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing