We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, warm and welcoming...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellen's Bothy

Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area Woodburner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area
Woodburner.
Kitchen/living area with dining table.
Cosy dinner for two.
Tea and biscuits!
Bedroom
Outside bothy
Bothy from side with view to the sea (10 min walk to bay)
The Quiraing in summer
Sunset over the Quiraing
The Quiraing in winter
My dog on Staffin Bay!
Staffin Bay with views to Torridon
The neighbours
Sunset over the Outer Isles from Rubha Hunish (northern tip of Skye)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
loisf50
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, warm and welcoming accommodation.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Skye is a wonderful place to visit if you enjoy walking, hill climbing and cycling. The scenery is breathtaking so don't forget the camera. Plenty bird watching too. Ellen's bothy was clean and cosy and we were also able to take the dog. If you do take the dog with you a word of warning though, as beautiful and luscious as Skye is with all it's miles upon miles of picturesque landscapes dogs are on leads for majority of the time when out and about. Skye has also got lots and lots of sheep in areas with no fences so quite understandably dogs must be kept on a lead. However there are also areas where cows and calves are and they do and will most certainly chase you if you have a dog. Quite scary to say the least. Our dog gets more freedom at home. All in all though a great place if it's peace and tranquillity your looking for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great little bothy in great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had an excellent relaxing stay in early July. The bothy was clean and cosy with everything needed. Really good location and Skye was great. Local stores and restaurant were really good. People friendly. Some amazing scenery and good walks nearby. Ellen was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R & E W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A warm, welcoming, easy to use and very well equipped bothy waited for us after a long journey and even the dogs were welcomed with biscuits and blankets. The 'local' eagle greeted us on arrival as well by flying over. We saw him several times more, as well as otters and seals in Staffin bay (only 10 min away). We looked for the dinosaur footprint in Staffin harbour, but somehow missed it! We need to try again... I was wondering how well I would cope with not having a TV but it was great. Listening to the radio and written books was a good alternative. Not having Internet access either was good too, but as the car developed some trouble this was something we found a bit more challenging. The Columba1400 cafe provides Wifi access for a donation - however, access is still limited. Phone usage no problem. Car was fine in the end after having a check in Portree with very short notice but excellent customer service (Ford dealer near the Coop store in Portree. they do all car makes).The wooden stove was not really needed as it was warm enough but we did anyway - it was such a nice focal point sitting on the sofa with a glass of wine in the hand...Although we did some cooking - very well equipped and easy to use kitchen! - we also used the Staffin store for very good Indian take away (check which meat is cooked on the day!) and the Columba 1400 café (lovely views, good homemade food but a bit disappointing on the fish and chips, which was not homemade) and the Kilmartin café for a good burger. We did a lot of exploring of the island and walking and the bothy was ideally located for this. If you are a dog owner, keep in mind there are a lot of sheep around and the dogs need to be kept on leads for most of the time. We also treated us to the luxury of an hours flight with Skye seaplanes on Wednesday which was the most wonderful way to see mainly the eastern side of Skye and something we can thoroughly recommend. We had a lovely time and I would thoroughly recommend the bothy for a relaxing stay on this wonderful island.
Thank you very much Ellen for making it so welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm character of the bothy
Liked least: no internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed review! I really appreciate it. Best wishes, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful week. The location is perfect for exploring the island
, theres a beach a 10min stroll away and fantastic views of the Quirang. Ellen left us a wonderful welcome package: hot choc, shortbread, proper coffee even biscuits for the dog! There were maps and attraction leaflets to help us decide how to spend our time and there was plenty of fuel for the log burning stove (great to dry out soggy walking boots); also very romantic.

Ellen made everything really easy, if we're ever back on Skye i know where were staying :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithAAs...
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful find!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location - 10 minute stroll to Staffin Bay. Great views all around the bothy & wonderful for dogs as the garden is enclosed.
The bothy is extremely homely & the welcome pack of coffee, milk, biscuits, etc was such a kind touch. The wood burner is a real feature & Ellen had given us a good supply of fuel. The additional touch of bits of driftwood, lovely pebbles, etc as part of the decor are great.
We used it as a base to walk & tour the island & it was perfect.
I cannot recommend it more highly; if you want to get away, relax, be cosy & have a great base to enjoy Skye, Ellen's Bothy is for you!

We will be back. Thank you, Ellen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove & the location.
Liked least: The bed creaks a bit when someone turns over.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing