We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location, wonderful view, warm well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hill Cottage

Looking out the loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out the loch
The land, the sea and the sky The view to the side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Looking out the loch
The land, the sea and the sky
The view to the side.
The view from the front looking out towards Harris.
Dining room
King size bed
Main bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Second shower room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sitting room fireplace
Dining room towards sitting room
Sitting room
entrance
totally private with a commanding view
more of the land, the sea and the sky.
up on the hill by itself
plenty room round the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
William R...
1 review
“Good location, wonderful view, warm well appointed cottage.”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Well located. Good panoramic views. Cottage beautifully laid out and fitted. Well equipped. Nicely warm for a chilly week outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanoq4
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Hill Cottage which was easy to reach thanks to a detailed description provided by the owner who welcomed us warmly over the phone. The place itself is cozy and extremely neat. The view from the windows is breathtaking and after a day of hiking one can enjoy a cup of tea at the fireplace in a relax chair. A car is a must though. The internet is fast, we didn't use the TV but it's available in three rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it felt like coming home
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments about Hill Cottage. I am delighted you enoyed your short stay and many thanks indeed for leaving it spotless on your departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings1234...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in April 2014

Even though I went to this cottage 2 years ago, it was FABULOUS! It was my first time to Portree and I found this cottage and me and my dad booked and went here. First off the view was out of this world! Then when we went in and I loved how tidy and clean it was, also the view from the front room! Also the bedrooms were really good and the beds are really comfy also the shower was wonderful,Wifi was excellent and I wished could have stayed longer. But I might be going back this month so VERY happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. It is great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojostar4...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is new with all modern ammenities, Nothing is missing. It was clean and tidy. We appreciated the comfortable living room with the fireplace.

It is a great place to stay to visit Skye, not far from principal road, but in a silent place.

And the owner Margaret is very friendly and easy to deal with.

We would return without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room with the fireplace to relax after a day of visit,
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
I am always very happy to hear that guests have enjoyed Hill Cottage and thank you very much for taking the time to let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickenwom...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“How was it you say? Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful holiday home, it was an absolute pleasure to stay at Hill Cottage. We pulled up outside after a very long drive and couldn't quite believe our luck, the cottage was just as described (if not better). It has every home comfort, the underfloor heating means it stays comfortably warm and the log burner gives the home a lovely cosy feel. The beds were comfy, the kitchen is well equipped and the leather sofas made it feel like so much more than a holiday rental.

Communication with the owner was excellent, Margaret was quick to respond to emails and called us on the day of our arrival to make sure we had arrived and that everything was OK.

We would go back in a heartbeat and hope to return to Hill Cottage in the very near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your very kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. You are very welcome to return anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing