We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, modern, comfortable getaway - what a...”
other traveller has booked this property
in studio looking towards picture window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
in studio looking towards picture window
well equipped kitchen View from window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
in studio looking towards picture window
well equipped kitchen
View from window
Comfortable chairs
Kingsize bed
walk in shower
view from sitting area
Front door
Path to Studio
outside dining area
Sunset from Studio
View over Loch
Garden
Shrub garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
CecilyFHC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, modern, comfortable getaway - what a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were traveling after a long period of hard work months, and wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of life: this was an absolute dream of a vacation, thanks much to Joyce Heggie's beautiful self-catering cottage! The space was perfect for us as a couple: a large bed, spacious kitchen and bathroom, and simply stunning views of an inlet of the loch we overlooked. While we spent much of the days touring the island and walking to gorgeous vistas, we also spent nearly every evening at the cottage, seated at the large window overlooking the loch, watching the sunset for hours. It was quite a romantic scene, and just the peaceful place we needed. We didn't hear a peep from anyone else.
This was the first time I'd been to a self-catering place that didn't have leftovers from previous guests (like old olive oil or peanut butter jars and the like) - it was so fabulous to come to such a clean place (though do bring ALL the food necessities you'll want to cook with, like spices).
You'll need a car to get there and get around - but it is well worth it. We have raved about it to all our friends, and will continue to do so for some time. Thank you for providing such a lovely getaway for us, Joyce!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the bed, the views
Liked least: There was no handsoap
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Reviewed 12 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AJDean1
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Cottage, Lovely View and Welcoming Owners”
Reviewed 18 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Where to start! I have never left a review on anything before but i felt compelled to because of how much i enjoyed the stay. The booking was very easy and communication with Joyce and Brian was nice and very helpful! Even let me reserve it for a day while i could confirm my own time off from work. They were happy to answer any questions i had right up until a couple of days before we arrived. They also sent some extra instructions on how to get there in case the Sat Nav led us wrong which were very easy to follow. When we got there we were told which studio we had and it looked exactly like the photos inside and out. Which after travelling extensively around the world i know is very rarely the case. It was cosy and warm with underfloor heating, the whole studio was spotless and looked it had been professionally cleaned. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning and the view onto the loch was stunning, it was lovely to wake up to! There was also a nice little garden area in the back to sit in during the day and at night for lunch or tea. Another thing which is handy is that knott is ideally located, it is just out of portree and so you feel wonderfully isolated but not completely out of civilisation. And if you have to you can enjoy one of the local live music pubs at night everything is a short drive away, from portree, to the cullins, to boat trips, to the old man of storr and beautiful coastal walks. Anything you might want to do has been printed out and put in folders for you to see when you get there, from interesting walks that you could go on, to places to visit to things to see and to os maps to guide you while you are out and about which was very helpful as this was out first visit to Skye. I reccommend taking a walk on the edge of the loch just off the studio as there is abundance of mussels and razor clams that we picked and cooked ourselves which was delicious.
I can't reccommend highly enough of this place and as we were leaving i asked about how busy they were next year as i plan to come back to skye and i will definately stay here. Joyce and Brian were wonderful hosts/owners who were ever so friendly to chat to and to ask for help if we needed it. It my was my girlfriend and I's first holiday together and we will not forget it. By the end of the trip we were looking at houses in knott to see if we could buy anywhere we enjoyed it that much. Thank you again and we hope to see you in 2013.

p.s. i almost forgot, it was very well priced and got more than we paid for i am sure. I have uploaded some photos so please take a look!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the owners. the whole place
Liked least: there is nothing i disliked
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing