We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful beauty; I hated leaving!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Linda B
Gold Canyon, Arizona
2 reviews
“Peaceful beauty; I hated leaving!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My sister, Ruby, and I stayed at Skye Croft for a week in April. It was the most perfect place to stay and provided us with a relaxing, restful vacation. We were greeted by daffodils then found that inside the croft everything was clean and inviting; we wanted for nothing. The quiet beauty of the island, the ever-changing view, delightful neighbors and stunning touring opportunities all made me want to stay for much longer. We searched for seals, shooting stars and Northern Lights. We are looking for dates to return in order to experience Skye and this peaceful croft once more. Gail has thought of everything and the croft is well equipped, comfortable and cozy. She is a wonderful hostess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunsets and ever changing water.
Liked least: I loved it all....maybe a bigger coffee pot would be good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“This place is AMAZING!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My sister and I spent a week at SkyeCroft recently and had the most amazing experience. The croft is located on a peninsula that offers such privacy, tranquility and peace. It is beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, and offers everything you need for your stay. There are even binoculars to catch sight of the wide variety of birds. Herons were nesting across the water so we kept an eye on them! We missed the seals but were told that the second day we were there, 23 were resting on the rocks that are located a short walk away. (We hadn't figured out the tide schedules, so we always missed low tide when they like to sun themselves!) There is a nice variety of books to read ranging from fiction to travel books covering the local areas as well as a variety of DVD's for viewing pleasure. I loved how Gail had posted helpful hints around on how to operate the equipment . Overall, life was so good for that week we were there. Hopefully, we will get a chance to go back SOON! Thanks, Gail, for sharing this piece of paradise with us. So many memories to hang on to until we can return. (Traveled from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of booking, the location, the way the croft was decorated, the tranquillity, ...I loved everything about it!
Liked least: That time went by too quickly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lierwuw
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ANTI-STRESS vacation”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very nice and cosy cottage, far away from the hectic world.
Excellent view and very peacefull.
Everything you need is here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and cosyness
Liked least: No dishwasser, but then again, doing the dish for two won't kill you...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray7865
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A LITTLE JEWEL IN THE WONDERFUL SKYE LANDSCAPE!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Skye Croft four 4 nights and had the most fabulous time! The attention to detail in the Croft is 1ST CLASS and owner Gail has to be congratulated! I have stayed in many B & B's, cottages, lodges and hotels (5 STAR included!) around the UK but Skye Croft takes some beating! The croft is really well equipped with all you need and really cosy! The wood burner is brilliant!
The location of the croft is stunning with open Loch Views in peaceful tranquility! Gail has also added a Grill Kota Hut in the grounds of the croft - FABULOUS even in March! Cosy and cooking on the open fire was just great along with the wine and beer! If you go you need to try it out at least once!
Our first 2 days at the croft were in virtual clear blue cloudless skies, cold but you always feel cosy at Skye Croft!
My wife and I wanted a chilled, peacefull, stressless break to recharge the batteries and we got that in ambundance! We just cant wait to sort our diary out to try and get back!
PS - Gail btw provided fantastic customer service right from time of booking! WHich unfortunately we don't always get in the hospitality/tourism sector!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail!
Liked least: Nothing! Faultless!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracymcgr...
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner David and I stayed at the croft for two nights at the end of January and absolutely loved it! We arrived late afternoon and the croft was warm, cosy and very welcoming! Gail enures that you immediately feel at home with all the personal touches that are in place for your arrival.

The croft itself is like a home away from home and we loved it so much we barely left it during our stay. The garden is well kept and the kota hut is great! very unusual!

The area in which the croft is situated is perfect as it is the best of both worlds, you have your own space but Portree is only 10 minutes away for quick trips to the supermarket.

When booking the croft, Gail makes you feel like you are an old friend and it is all very personal and makes you want to book up again ASAP! Can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing