We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ANTI-STRESS vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lierwuw
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“ANTI-STRESS vacation”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very nice and cosy cottage, far away from the hectic world.
Excellent view and very peacefull.
Everything you need is here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and cosyness
Liked least: No dishwasser, but then again, doing the dish for two won't kill you...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray7865
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A LITTLE JEWEL IN THE WONDERFUL SKYE LANDSCAPE!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Skye Croft four 4 nights and had the most fabulous time! The attention to detail in the Croft is 1ST CLASS and owner Gail has to be congratulated! I have stayed in many B & B's, cottages, lodges and hotels (5 STAR included!) around the UK but Skye Croft takes some beating! The croft is really well equipped with all you need and really cosy! The wood burner is brilliant!
The location of the croft is stunning with open Loch Views in peaceful tranquility! Gail has also added a Grill Kota Hut in the grounds of the croft - FABULOUS even in March! Cosy and cooking on the open fire was just great along with the wine and beer! If you go you need to try it out at least once!
Our first 2 days at the croft were in virtual clear blue cloudless skies, cold but you always feel cosy at Skye Croft!
My wife and I wanted a chilled, peacefull, stressless break to recharge the batteries and we got that in ambundance! We just cant wait to sort our diary out to try and get back!
PS - Gail btw provided fantastic customer service right from time of booking! WHich unfortunately we don't always get in the hospitality/tourism sector!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail!
Liked least: Nothing! Faultless!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracymcgr...
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner David and I stayed at the croft for two nights at the end of January and absolutely loved it! We arrived late afternoon and the croft was warm, cosy and very welcoming! Gail enures that you immediately feel at home with all the personal touches that are in place for your arrival.

The croft itself is like a home away from home and we loved it so much we barely left it during our stay. The garden is well kept and the kota hut is great! very unusual!

The area in which the croft is situated is perfect as it is the best of both worlds, you have your own space but Portree is only 10 minutes away for quick trips to the supermarket.

When booking the croft, Gail makes you feel like you are an old friend and it is all very personal and makes you want to book up again ASAP! Can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_mac...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I smiled when I arrived and never stopped till it was time to go !!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is by a country mile the most beautiful and accessible holiday Croft I have stayed in on Northern Skye.

The Croft is within easy distance of Portree (8 miles), Glendale (3 Chimneys), Dunvegan (The Old School House). Don't forget to check out the well established awesome pottery just up the road in Edinbane, there's a pub there too and a hotel.

The Stien Inn is also a short distance (in Skye terms) and the view and the atmosphere there is just beyond belief. There is a back road to The Quiraing to save you driving around the top of the island It goes from Uig to Staffin. We also found a back road from Talisker to the Croft which cut out miles and was so scenic. If you've ever dreamed of going to Skye, go, you will not regret it.

Well that's the reason to go covered. Now the reason to choose Skye Croft.

The croft was so easy to find. Sat Nav to the door. When we entered the warmth and effort that has gone into making it my favourite Holiday Croft on Skye was instantly apparent. The table was laid beautifully, with loads of nice touches. Some cards beautifully wrapped, wine for dinner and impeccable settings.

The kitchen is really well laid out and almost stocked to the level in our own home. We cooked every lunchtime and almost every night and never thought we needed another utensil, pan or dish.

We found a fish van at the large Co-Op in Portree it's there Tuesdays and Thursday we bought the freshest scallops and mackerel. The mackerel needed de-boned but was sublime and the scallops the taste of the sea and the best restaurants anywhere. Ingredients for the worlds heads of state to use in your own kitchen..

The bed was so comfortable and the sofa to curl up in front of the tv too. We even played with the log fire one night which was very romantic. We loved the underfloor heating in the well appointed bathroom.

If that isn't enough, leading out of the back patio doors, there is a small but perfect deck with a gorgeous view out over the loch, with abundant wildlife and the most stunning views. The view changes every time you look and on it's own is enough to make you forget the bustle of the city and smile at your own good fortune.

We are freelance photographers from Edinburgh, who visit Skye whenever we can. There is no reward for us in writing this review. It's our heartfelt opinion.

We hope you manage to make the trip to Skye, you will not be disappointed, especially if you stay at Skye Croft. It's sure to book fast, so make sure you get your stay in the diary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of this croft is just ideal and it is so well appointed
Liked least: Leaving. We had a wonderful stay and a gret time on Skye
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david r
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best cottage in Scotland.... maybe even the world.”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a cold night to a cosy and warm atmosphere.The Christmas decorations and the gifts that were left for us were unexpected.
Everything you need is in the cottage.The thought and planning that has went into the cottage was easy to see.
We stayed five nights and our only regret was not booking it for longer.
Great cottage, great location. Ideal if you want to escape from life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing