We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable country get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely location in rural Borve yet close to Portree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely location in rural Borve yet close to Portree
Spacious cosy fully kitted kitchen with large Pine Table  Cosy Lounge with comfortable seating, books,games,Smart TV, Xbox and views of the Coolins and red de
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Lovely location in rural Borve yet close to Portree
Spacious cosy fully kitted kitchen with large Pine Table
Cosy Lounge with comfortable seating, books,games,Smart TV, Xbox and views of the Coolins and red de
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mary Kay...
Berwyn, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable country get-away”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A nice country location about 10 minutes north of Portree with a deer reserve as a front yard! Very well-equipped kitchen, and comfortable beds. Dougie provided a wonderful welcome basket to get us started. The furniture and carpet is a bit worn, but all in all very comfy, and I would stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you very kindly for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your break. Thank you for noticing the little bit of wear that we tapestry into the decor to make guests feel at home!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QianC8
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“perfect stay at Portree”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

we stayed here for 2 days, every works well and Douglas arranged every thing also perfect. we would definitely love to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
We loved having you and so delighted you got great weather and enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for staying at Craigh Na Dun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgio24...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice stay, lovely accomodation and great owners”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The property is located out in the wilds which suited us very much - It was a pleasure to see red deer outside of our window in the mornings!
The property is very well designed, spacious and very clean. It is an ideal location for exploring Skye.
The owner Dougie was very helpful and had a great knowledge of the history of the Island.
There were only two very minor areas where I would recommend improvement - though it would not deter us from staying again and is purely mentioned for owner feedback and hence only 4 stars instead of 5:
1. The mattresses on the main and twin room beds were far to soft and uncomfortable. We are not heavy people but when we got onto the double bed a mound appeared in the middle due to sinking so far in. Sleep therefore which for me is extremely important was not ideal. My father in law said the same about the twin room.
2. 10am is a little too early to have to vacate the property - we can get a 10am leave time from any B&B where they make the breakfast! When you have to carry self catering supplies and make food then a little later leave time would be appreciated. We struggled due to having two 80+ year olds with us - and were being chased so that the cleaner could get in - so not ideal.

Everything else was perfect and we thank Dougie for our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding the mattresses. Everyone has a unique need when it comes to mattresses but we take it on board. Regarding check out, we always give leeway and use discretion. You in fact vacated at 1130. It should be noted that our cleaner has set hours some days due to other committments. We did not 'chase' you at all but merely enquired if all was well as you were some time after check out time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable cottage in an ideal location for exploring Skye.”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is ideally located near enough to Portree and its amenities yet in a beautiful rural setting. The property in general is modern yet welcoming and cosy, with the kitchen/dining being very well equipped including a large family table. We were particularly impressed by the the comfort of our bed in the large double bedroom. If you are planning a trip to the Isle of Skye we couldn't recommend Craig Na Dun highly enough - we will definitely stay again when we next visit Skye.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2018
We are delighted that you enjoy your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzy d
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2018
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour et que vous ayez trouvé nos informations utiles. Merci et s'il vous plaît restez avec nous à l'avenir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing