We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
River View Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River View Cottage.
Entrance. Cottage can be seen at the top of the slip road.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
River View Cottage.
Entrance. Cottage can be seen at the top of the slip road.
Peeking through the trees
Kitchen.
View from living room window.
Hallway.
Downstairs shower/wet room.
Stair.
Bedroom 1
Downstairs double.
Bedroom 2.
Upstairs double.
Bedroom 3.
Upstairs Single.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sjamieson...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

River View Cottage is located ideally just North of Portree.

The location is makes it relatively easy to spend a day in each 'quadrant' of the island and commute back to the Cottage. Whilst Skye isn't huge, the commute time across Skye increases with the occasional single track and RV/farm vehicle.

The cottage is only a 10 minute drive to Portree for any essentials or if you don't want to cook..!

The cottage itself was well presented. Good for a family. Lovely local touches included in soaps, ales, shampoo etc. Linen good quality and furnishings robust.

Really enjoyed our stay and many thanks for a lovely time. Would certainly stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Hi Scott,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and would be delighted to welcome you back.
All the best,
John, Mairi and Agnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary20092...
1 review
“River View Cottage”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had the most amazing Easter break at this cottage the views are something else !Especially the river Snizort right on your doorstep. The cottage itself is decorated to very high standard ! We felt right at home as soon as we arrived lovely little reminders of all around Skye from the little touches of local soap and the complimentary ale brewed on the island to the pictures of the Cuillin mountains and even the highland cows. We will most definitly be back thank you for making our stay in Skye so welcoming we didnt wont to leave !

Many thanks again..

Mary and Elm x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thank you very much Mary for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
Agnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacuisine...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was quite simply a great cottage to stay at.
Very well located 5 minutes from Portree for all the road connections to different area of the island; this makes it a great location for exploring the whole of Skye. But it's not right in town - as the name suggests a pretty view over the river Snizort as it winds towards Loch Snizort Beag. Google Crepigill - that's where you'll be; lovely quiet location set back from the road (which is good, as it's a fast main road).

The cottage itself is welcoming and very enjoyable to stay in. Firstly, welcome - the owners, Agnes, Mairi and John are very helpful and responsive to emails etc. The instructions on finding the cottage are clear. Lots of lovely little touches to make you feel welcome when you arrive - a couple of bottles of the excellent Isle of Skye Brewing Co. Ales, and a wee pack of Deans shortbread - just a nice touch. Skye Soap co. lemongrass hand soap provided - prompted us to visit them in Portree as the soap was luxurious and lovely. We really appreciated this.

The standard of cleanliness and neatness was second to none - I've never stayed in such an immaculate cottage.

The cottage amenities are great. The central heating works swiftly if you come in cold, and is easy to adjust. We had a very cosy stay. The washing machine works well, and some liquid is kindly provided which again, we were grateful for.

The furnishing and decor is to a very high standard and I'd use the words "soft and comfy" to describe the experience of being at the cottage - great beds, lovely deep pile rugs, fluffy towels. None pdf your wipe clean faux leather sofa's here! This was a comfy and enjoyable place to crash after a long day up a cold hill (well, we did come in October!) I'd also highlight some nice touches in terms of art and soft furnishings - distinctive touches that made us feel at home rather than being in just another holiday let.

Overall, the cottage was one of the stars of what was as ever a great time for the three of us (self, wife, 12y/o) on the island.
Book it! You won't be disappointed!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
What a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Mairi takes great pride in caring for the cottage and it is so nice when it is appreciated. It goes without saying that you would be welcome back anytime.
Kind regards Agnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wee Cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here during skylive weekend, and couldn't have chosen a better retreat during our stay in Skye. The cottage kitchen was well used and the entire house was a cozy and charming treat. Only a 10 minute drive to portree, and on the dunvegan road, so fairly convenient for day trips on the north end of the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you Donald. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you to the cottage again in the future.
Kind regards Agnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasper a
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, Cozy, Cottage, Perfect Stay in Isle of Skye”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Pulling up to the cottage we were excited. This beautiful cottage, located only 10 min from Portree was so romantic. When we walked in, we were welcomed with two wee bottles of wine, shortbread, and a little note. Our hosts took great measures to ensure our stay was comfortable, and that any questions we had were answered.
The cottage was clean, well stocked with bathroom toiletries, kitchen essentials, bedroom linens. As well, the entire cottage is styled well, and left us wishing we had planned to stay longer. We stayed 4 nights, and found the cottage to be a great point for travelling around Isle of Skye. We did hiking, sightseeing, and were able to see much of the Island.
This cottage would be an excellent place for anyone planning to visit and tour around Skye, or even just for a writers retreat, or honeymoon. We would have been more than happy to stay for weeks enjoying the ambiance of this cozy cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you so much Jasper for the wonderful review. We are very pleased that you both enjoyed your stay. Needless to say, we would be delighted to have you both back again in the future.
Kind regards Agnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing