We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rhundunan

Rhundunan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rhundunan
View from the front of the house Rhundunan Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rhundunan
View from the front of the house
Rhundunan Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1 with King Sized Bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed
Bedroom 3 with bunk beds
Rhundunan Kitchen - Dining Room
Downstairs open plan living area
Reading area overlooking the lounge
Downstairs Bathroom
Upstairs en-suite shower room
Rhundunan on the hill behind 3 Chimneys Restaurant with the largest of MacLeods Tables behind.
The Cuillins at sunrise
Dunvegan Castle
Cuillins by day
Sunset from the front of Rhundunan
Rhundunan from the shore
Waterstein Head
Seals on the reef in front of Rhundunan
Dolphins in the Loch in front of Rhundunan
View from the top of Healabhal Bheag.  Glendale to the left and Dunvegan to the right.
Sunset from the front of Rhundunan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
drjcd
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were here first week of June. Weather OK, with three wonderful days of sunshine. Our base was this magnificent, well-appointed house in Colbost, just above the Three Chimneys restaurant and the Colbost Museum. As a location, it was stunning with views across to the Coral Beach, Harris, the Cuillins and Macleod's Tables. Quiet, perfect, no complaints whatsoever. Neist Point and the amazing sunsets are a few minutes away. You need a car to be based here, but it is worth the effort to get here. No 1 on Trip Adviser for a reason.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
1 review
“A magic destination”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were here for the first week in May and found it wonderful from the get-go. Rhundunan is built to very high standards. The windows are extremely well engineered and the house is well-insulated, making the place cosy on blustery days.A very well stocked kitchen wih all the appliances one needs (although the 3 Chimneys makes it tempting to eat out! As a centre for travelling, Colbost is very convenient - we found the roads, although single track, were quite navigable (and for Canadians, used to travelling in the right-hand lane, the only challenge was to decide which side of the road to pull into at the passing places!).

Of course the 3 Chimneys is a big drawing card and the menus, particularly the "Taste of Skye" menu was outstanding, we ate there 3 evening and it did not disappoint. We would recommend the boat trip from the caste at Dunvegan, perhaps more than the seal-watching trip, we saw a magnificent sea eagle, guillemots, the heronry, and great northern and red-throated divers, and our guide was very knowledgeable. We also visited Talisker, and close by, the Oyster Shed (yum!), the falls of Glenbrittle, Neist Point lighthouse, and Storrs, with a trip across to Uig via Quirang, with its breathtaking scenery..

It's a magical place, we were entranced by Skye and Rhundunan was the perfect place to be in Skye. We hope that we can return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: A truly greaat place to stay
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubaloobe...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 and were very impressed. The cottage is very roomy and the double heigh living room with lots of windows is ideal for catching the expansive views.
The cottage is just above the Three Chimneys restaurant so ideal if you want to eat out (though you must book!). On the same peninsular you can do some great walks we particularly enjoyed Nest point area and Ramasaig.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine W
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful rental property with it all.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is the perfect way to enjoy a stay on the isle of Skye. Location and outlook fantastic. Facilities perfect. Good central spit for sightseeing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitepou...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous break in a breathtaking location and a gorgeous holiday home”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I'm already a huge fan of the Isle of Skye but this trip exceeded all my expectations because of two things: where we stayed and the fantastic weather ! Rhundunan is located at the top of a wee hill and the views out of every window are breathtaking. The house has everything you could possibly need and more. From the beautiful decor and finishing to the little extras like White Company toiletries, DVDs and tourist information. This is the best holiday home we've ever stayed in ! Cosy, immaculate and welcoming.
There is lots and lots to do in the area and we were lucky to have 7 days of blue skies and sunshine. Trips to Coral Beach, Neist Point or Portree are all within an easy drive and there are lots of facilities in nearby Dunvegan including a wonderful restaurant called the Old Schoolhouse. The famous Three Chimneys is a one minute walk from the door of the house but it's much more expensive and they have strict rules on the ages of children allowed in for lunch and dinner. You can walk along the shore line from the house and see seals, and on a clear day you can see over to Harris.
We'll definitely be returning to Rhundunan - fingers crossed the sun will still be shining !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the reclining arm chairs and the dishwasher (I don't have one at home!)
Liked least: Leaving Rhundunan
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing