We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lang may yer lums reek, all three of them!!😀”
Review of The Three Chimneys

The Three Chimneys
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Colbost
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 52 - US$ 157
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Three Chimneys Restaurant is one of Scotland's most iconic restaurants, set in a stunning location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is famous for specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. The restaurant is owned by husband and wife, Eddie and Shirley Spear. The couple bought the traditional stone-walled croft house in 1984 and developed the business into what it is today, with an amazing worldwide reputation. The Three Chimneys has won countless awards and accolades. Head Chef, Scott Davies and his Brigade of young chefs are passionate about preparing and cooking the finest local ingredients. Waitrose Good Food Guide UK Restaurant of the Year 2018.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We first visited The Three Chimneys a good few years ago when Shirley was in charge of the kitchen. That experience was so good it prompted us to return for a "special" birthday this year.
The rooms in the "house over by", are still beautiful, tasteful, comforting. Almost everything you could possibly want, they try to provide, even seriously tasty hot chocolate at bedtime!
Breakfast is just perfect; home baked scones, crumpets, Shirley's marmalade (shades of my mum), full Scottish if you want....and we did! Or delicate smoked fish and local eggs, too many choices early in the day, but simply delicious.
Dinner in the restaurant is a celebration of locally sourced food presented at it's very best. We had selections of salmon and beetroot, scallops, prawns, smoky juices which enhanced the natural flavours. Local lamb and beef cooked with love and finesse.
Desserts (if space remains!) to suit any chocoholic's dream.
The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful, interested & interesting.
Comparing this visit with the last, which was the better? The first one; why? While the standard of food in the restaurant is excellent, no doubt about that, there was less "showcasing" when Shirley cooked, more "Love on a plate", if you know what I mean?
Would we recommend The Three Chimneys to you? Absolutely! It's Scottish hospitality and food at their best.

Thank K8tie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Great to know you have come back after all these years to celebrate a special occasion. Thank you for all of your lovely comments about the food and service you enjoyed. It is a long time since I was in the kitchen and since then, the Scottish restaurant scene has changed out of all recognition. Food is a very fashionable thing and to remain at the top, we have always had to move with the times. We have never been afraid to do so, using our wonderful local ingredients. Head Chef Scott Davies is a brilliant young man and he absolutely loves working in Skye. His kitchen brigade and the front-of-house restaurant team are the best we have ever had and working exceptionally well together on behalf of our guests.

I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and very pleased you ended your review recommending The Three Chimneys so highly. Very best wishes to you! Don't leave it so long before you return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived early for our reservation and had drinks at the House Over By until our table was ready.

We had the a la Carte menu. I am allergic to nuts, onions and garlic and the staff were very accommodating in going through the menu and discussing the food I could have.

The food was delicious and the service was fantastic. Would recommend.

Thank JulieS-G31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased we were able to assist you with your dietary requirements and that you had a comfortable, enjoyable evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Scottish guts and passion on the table in seven fine dining dishes.Proper punk Tarantino take on venison deserves a culinary Oscar.Whilst desserts resemble everything you know,but taste like nothing you've ever eaten.Lovely staff like Sarah and colleagues serve with attention and bring fun to the presentation of a lovely evening.Slainte.

1  Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Slainte! Brilliant! Thank you mary v

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Much anticipated visit to this highly touted restaurant. Reservation confirmation for 6:30 pm asked that we be out of the restaurant by 8:15 pm for the next seating. We were promptly greeted and seated, staff very friendly. We selected the 8 course meal over the a la carte version.

Each course was about 2 ounce entree; beautifully presented. There was substantial wait between courses; at 8:15 pm we were about halfway through the 8 courses. I could see we would not be able to leave at their designated time.

We completed our meal by 9:00 pm. I have never spent 2.5 hours at a restaurant unless it was a banquet or some such event. Some of the courses were delectable (the deer! So tasty); others were exotic and very strongly flavored. One in particular looked like artfully arranged roadkill. Beets were involved, and the beet juice splatter looked like a crime scene.

For £260 just wasn’t that great an experience.

6  Thank bevmy0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

I am very sorry you had a disappointing experience at The Three Chimneys. Perhaps you got us mixed up with another restaurant, as we have never asked any customers to vacate a table by 8.15pm. The earliest turnover time for our earliest diners is 9.00pm and then they are courteously asked if they would like to enjoy coffee and chocolates in the Lounge in The House Over-By where they can relax for as long as they like. You selected the Skye Land and Sea 8-course Tasting Menu which is by design, a selection of small dishes. This is common in the UK in fine dining restaurants. You obviously added to the cost of this Menu with drinks of your own choice. From my own experience last night, when I had this Menu in the restaurant, I found the gaps between serving courses to be measured perfectly - neither too slow, nor more importantly - too fast. Like you, I thought the food was delectable - a mix of the exotic, to tasty and with distinctive flavours. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We booked the kitchen table for the 8 course tasting menu and it was a fantastic experience.

We stayed at the House Over-by and before our dinner we were served with a couple of tasty appetisers, a salmon dish and a little cheese brûlée with crackers.

We were escorted over to the restaurant with our fellow diners, 2 other couples, and led through the main restaurant into the busy kitchen, a hive of activity.

It was great to see the kitchen in full swing and also nice to chat with our fellow guests, a very sociable experience.

The food is amazing, and we also chose to have the paired wines with each dish. The sommelier explained each wine to us and why it was paired with each dish, and the chefs also came by to tell us a bit more about the food they had prepared.

I can't fault any of the dishes, the flavours and combinations were exquisite, and the wine match was spot on too, though the biodiverse wine we had might not be to everyone's taste!

Highlights for me were the steamed halibut dish and the lemon cream desert, but really there wasn't a dish that didn't impress.

Also, despite the taster size portions we were full by the end of the meal.

Service was impeccable, mirroring the friendly approach we experienced from the staff in the House Over-by - there are no airs and graces, just good people.

We chatted to the chefs, and the head chef came out after the meal to say hello too, really impressed and an unforgettable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ynbniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you ynbniar for this detailed review of your Kitchen Table experience at The Three Chimneys where you enjoyed the Skye Land and Seat 8-Course Tasting Menu, plus the Wine Flight to match. You have given time and great care to writing this and it is greatly appreciated by the whole Team. We enjoyed your company very much and do hope you will find an opportunity to return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Chimneys also viewed

 
Glendale, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Three Chimneys? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing