We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!”
Review of Glengorm Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glengorm Castle
Ranked #3 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed in the Steadings Flat for a long weekend in December 2011. Beautiful decor, king side bed, log fire, leather sofas, along with little treats of arran aromatics toiletries, bath robes, portmeirion crockery etc etc.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hd2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

I must say that the week we have just spent at The Steadings ranks amongst one of the most relaxing weeks I've ever spent anywhere. Everything about the accommodation was top class and we were fortunate enough to have really nice weather for the time of year which allowed us to see the island in all it's glory! If the weather should take a turn for the worse the apartment is more than comfortable enough to enjoy just staying in and chilling. To be honest the bed itself is so inviting that it takes a great deal of effort to leave it! The location is wonderful and the only slight concern we had was the state of the road leading from Tobermory to Glengorm. Life's too short for us to go to the same place more than once but we'd definitely be tempted by The Steadings!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Becx82_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We spent the night in the castle after week in one of the self-catering cottages (Lephin). We loved the cottage and had high expectations for the castle, it being my wife's birthday.

We were not disappointed. The castle was luxurious as you might expect, but still warm and welcoming (with the most adorable working-cocker spaniel you've ever met tottering around the place). The staff we met were both very pleasant, and the owner (who we met later in the night) was extremely warm and welcoming.

They invite you to light either of the two open fires in the public rooms available, and provide complementary whisky (and decent malts!) too.

The room was spacious, elegant, very comfortable, and warm. The breakfast was hearty and fresh. I've stayed in far worse 4-star hotels.

I really couldn't fault this place, we both loved it and would love to return. To top it off, the price made us feel like we were making off with the silver teapot we got at breakfast!

Room Tip: We went for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

What we liked best? Hard to decide: the free whiskies in the library, the spacious rooms, the location, the friendly people, the log fires, the atmosphere?

An excellent B&B for any traveller visiting the Isle of Mull.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSBadSegeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Had 2 nights here in at beginnning of October. We had been camping so it was a wonderful treat. The castle and the location are stunning although the access road is awful - watch out for potholes and Highland cows! Real sense of grandeur and beautifully appointed rooms. Exceptionally comfy beds, spotlessly clean and huge baths to lose yourself in. Delicious breakfasts served in the stately dining room with amazing views. Don't expect a luxury hotel though - this is very much a family home and you will see school bags, children and dogs around. If you like a warm family atmosphere typical of a farmhouse B&B, but with more luxury, this is for you. If you want a hushed sanctuary and immaculate surroundings you will be disappointed. We found the owners very welcoming and willing to chat about the estate and recommend one of the numerous free whiskies in the lovely drawing room. They also provided somewhere to hang up our very wet outdoor clothing. The lady who was standing in for the owners on the saturday evening/Sunday evening was a little brusque which would be my only criticism. Its well worth eating at the estate cafe too - try the italian hot chocolate with some homemade cake. Lovely local walks and bike rides to work up an appetite. This is a place to lose yourself in and pretend for 24 or 36hrs that its all yours.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
7.1 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
724 reviews
33.5 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
6.8 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
131 reviews
36.5 km away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
0 km away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengorm Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengorm Castle

Address: Glengorm, Tobermory PA75 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: ₹ 9,641 - ₹ 28,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glengorm Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Northern tip of the Isle of Mull near Tobermory, Glengorm Castle overlooks the Atlantic and has spectacular views over the Outer Hebrides. The Castle was built in 1860 and sits at the headland of Glengorm's vast area of coastline, forests, lochs and hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glengorm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengorm Castle Hotel Tobermory
Glengorm Castle Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing