We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic return visit to Mull and this Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicki G
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic return visit to Mull and this Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our 2nd trip to this Cottage and it was as perfect as the first time, the cottage is spotless, well equipped and definitely feels like a home from home experience, we have already booked to return next year! Jean is such an fantastic host! Excellent base to explore the Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Hello to you all,
Thank you for your great review for Oakfield Cottage. It is really good to know that you all enjoy your visits. Thank you very much for booking for next year - we will look forward to seeing you all next May.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrypayn...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The nicest way to stay on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Isle of Mull is beautiful and the only town on the island, Tobermory, is a delightful place to stay. It is undeniably picturesque, has interesting shops and good restaurants. So it is a very popular place and can be quite crowded on the loch-side. Oakfield Cottage provides a superior way of staying on Mull. The front garden provides a lovely view of all that is going on the water. We slept well in the comfortable bedrooms whose windows can be left open and yet still be perfectly peaceful. A comfortable lounge. A well equipped kitchen.
But, best of all, is that the owner is always on hand to help and advise.
Even before we had arrived we were making frequent enquiries and Mrs Maclean responded without delay. When we were in residence she was always immediately available if we needed to talk to her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owner, who was always unobtrusively on hand.
Liked least: This is really nit-picking, but the property could do with a repeater wifi router in the premises.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was really good that you were able to enjoy the excellent weather to explore the island and that you enjoyed sampling the menus in several of the local restaurants.
It was a real pleasure to meet you all and we hope that we might welcome you back some time in the not too distant future.
We hope that you went home well rested.
Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
197yellow
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jean and Alasdair have provided a spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage. You can start exploring the island on foot from the front door, and the main street is only 5 minutes away,down hill. Jean kindly gave us some very interesting information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oakfield Cottage. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes from Tobermory,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N
1 review
“Perfectly suited our needs”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely warm welcome from Jean,the cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Beautiful views from the garden and the lounge(looking onto the bird feeders). Comfy beds and rooms warm up quickly.Jean was very helpful and provided information about trips.perfect location for us,would recommend Oakfield to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the garden
Liked least: Feeding the meter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for your stay at Oakfield Cottage.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to see a lot of the island.
Its great to know that you are thinking f returning soon.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmax...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“terrific tobermory”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An absolute delight to be able to stay in oakfield. Such a warm lovely home. Everything you could possibly want and need. Only a ten min walk into town, a great selection of shops. A great bus service that can take you round the full island. Hope to return at some point in the future , thanks again for making my holiday so comfortable .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage and that you would like to return.
It was a pleasure to meet you and to hear about your holiday adventures. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Oakfield Cottage or Darach Beag - hopefully in the not too distant future..
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing