We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
20
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
5
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The small roadway leading up to the house is littered with old cars and looks like a tip. This is in no way at all related to the b and b. We arrived at 3.45pm for 4pm check in to find note saying back by 4.30pm. We arrived back at 4.30pm and again waited until 4.45pm when both Mike and Sarah arrived home. Unfortunately when you are running a business of this type someone should be there to let people in. We were welcomed to our room which was clean and tidy, if not a little old fashioned and comprising furniture arranged in a bits and pieces fashion. Single seater chair facing across to a wall, very small old box type tv which Mike had trouble getting going, cupboard made of wire frame with material over it. Probably made worse because we stayed at a B and B the night before with a similar tariff which was beautiful at Fionnphort. Mike then proceeded to give us the breakfast menu and showed us to the dining area where breakfast would be served.
When he left the paper to write down what we wanted, there was no pen to be seen. I found one in the hall, and filled out the form. On the way to the hall I put my hand on the stair bannister and it was all sticky (like the tv remote). I had a shower after dinner and waited under the luke warm water for it to get hot but after shivering for a while I got out. It was the same the following morning. The thermostat on this shower would need to be turned up in winter or you would freeze. I asked for the password for wifi and there is a list of 20 things you cannot use it for(uploading or downloading photos, music,games etc etc) The bed was comfortable and I can say I slept well. Breakfast was adequate but not a patch on what we had previously had. Unfortunately we left this place feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebe02, Owner at Sunart View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We work hard to try and ensure that our guests receive a warm welcome and have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We would like to take the opportunity to respond to your comments.

You’ve said that the lane leading to our house is “littered with old cars” – this comment is factually inaccurate. There is a car workshop at the corner approximately 300m from our house – vehicles are sometimes parked there but there is space off the road for these. Also the workshop is not in sight of or within earshot of our house. I intend to put some photos of our lane on our website to show that it is actually rather lovely.

Our check in time is usually between 4 and 6 pm but on this day I had to take my daughter, who had broken her front teeth, to an emergency dentist appointment 22 miles away. Mike had been called home from work early to try to be there in time for your arrival but unfortunately didn't get there before you. I immediately apologised for being late when we met, and I explained the reason why I couldn’t be there for 4pm. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

We are glad that you found your room clean and tidy but would like to respond to your criticism over the style of furniture. Information about our rooms, including photographs, is clearly visible on our website as we want potential guests to choose the type of accommodation that suits them. Our B&B is our home and does not have a corporate or boutique style – but rather an informal and friendly approach. The chair you referred to is a single sofa bed to enable families to stay, and the wall it faces has a large piece of original artwork on it. The “cupboard with wire frame” is a timber frame wardrobe that has a canvas outer cover. There is no wire in its construction.

The television in your room, though not a large screen tv, works perfectly well and has freeview channels available. The previous guest had re-programmed it but Mike was more than happy to correct this.

We are happy to provide pens if guests ask for one – we do not expect you to have to find one. We do apologise if the banister up to our private accommodation was sticky. However I have now double checked all the banisters in the house, as indeed, I’ve double checked all remote controls for stickiness.

The electric showers in our bathrooms have a dial that guests can turn to adjust the water temperature to their liking. There isn’t a thermostat that we control (our B&B is not open in the winter). We want our guests to enjoy a hot shower. If you had a problem operating the shower why didn’t you tell us and we could have shown you how to do so.

We make our home wifi available to guests as a courtesy but we have a limited download package and ask that people do not use it for large down/uploads as we incur extra costs if this happens. We do not charge for wifi (as many hotels etc do) so do not feel that this is unreasonable.

We are glad that you found the bed comfortable and that you slept well.

Our “adequate” breakfast has been enjoyed by a significant number of our guests – as can be evidenced by the genuine comments on TripAdvisor and our website, where the full menu is also listed.

Finally – we would like to say that we are sorry that you and your wife didn’t like Tobermory and that your wife found it “too touristy”. Once again we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed to the extent that you had to write such a terrible review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in a twin room, up its own stairs with its own bathroom. We chose it for the privacy and the view and we weren't disappointed. We only met Mike who was very helpful and cooked a good breakfast (including haggis, speciality sausages and porridge), although Sarah was also helpful on the phone when we were booking.

We were travelling independently and both Mike and Sarah knew about local buses and told us where we needed to get off on the way into town, to avoid the walk uphill from the harbour, and where to catch the bus from on our departure.

This B&B is a little way up an unsurfaced track; probably about 5 minutes from the road, which was a bit tricky with a wheeled case, but worth it for the peace and quiet and the view. From the road junction it's about another 5-10 mins on foot into Tobermory, and you need to allow longer for coming back up!

Room Tip: Good view from the upstairs room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Sunart View B&B for a week and it was superb! The hosts, Sarah & Mike, are so friendly and helpful and made us feel at home from the moment we met them. They both had a great knowledge of the island and were always interested in what we had planned for the day. The room was immaculate and a great size (Big Stirk). It had everything we needed and more. The bed was to die for and now made us want a memory foam mattress!
The breakfast was amazing every morning and we even had a pack lunch on the one morning we didn't have breakfast which was just as great.
I can't speak highly enough of Sarah & Mike and their lovely B&B.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent seven nights at Sarah and Mike's B&B: four nights in a cosy twin room in the eaves, with the lovely view over Loch Sunart to the mainland, then three nights in a big ground-floor double that had several impressive paintings of Mull in all weathers by Mike. Each room had its own atmosphere and both were well appointed to a standard level, had comfy beds and were very clean. Breakfast was well cooked and used good ingredients. Mike and Sarah were welcoming and obliging with maps, books, local info, advice, etc - as well as being genuinely likable people who had a pleasant way with their various guests of different ages and backgrounds. Around the place are many examples of MIke's paintings and Sarah's photography, mostly of Mull, and particularly good on wildlife. The place is about ten mins from the bang centre of (tiny) Tobermory, up a bit of a hill then a short dirt drive. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a great little B&B. It is situated about a 10 min walk downhill or 15 min uphill walk back from the main harbour area in Tobermory Mike & Sarah are very friendly and knowledgeable advising on places to see, walks, day trips out and places to eat. Our room was at the back with a view of the garden. It must be one of the largest rooms we have ever had. It was bright, clean with everything you could want from the usual tea tray, a torch and even winter duvets and hot water bottles. Deer did visit the garden but unfortunately we never saw them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews