We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet at its best”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dervaig, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edmund E
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet at its best”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful location,friendly owners the cottage was clean and warm nicely located for getting around Mull

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jotomalin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect accommodation for a single traveller: I had a lovely time staying here for a week, exploring walks and expeditions in the area. The cabin was warm and comfortable, with everything I needed.
There's a small kitchen and small bathroom, then the main room with double bed, sofa, table and chairs. It feels spacious. I cooked all my meals there. (There's a good shop in Dervaig down the road.) Eugenie is very helpful if you have any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being near so many beautiful places.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollyjill...
Dartmoor
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small white cabin- comfortable, warm and well kitted out.”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cabin is small and attached to the owners house. It is well fitted out in the kitchen and bathroom. There are copious amounts of hot water and efficient heating radiators. The shower is a bit dodgy and can suddenly turn hot!.
The downside for us that it had no views but was tucked under trees by a driveway. It didn't matter too much because we spent the days out; however, didn't feel like venturing out in the evening as it was midgey.
The other downside was the only hanging space for clothes, was a draped alcove rather than a cupboard. It was sufficient for our needs but might not suit everyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel C
Montgomery, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy and convenient”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The White Cabin at Achnadrish was ideal for a couple wanting a quiet holiday and a base for walking and time to read. The heating was very efficient, and it was easy to keep clean. There were good walks from the house, and to nearby beaches with a short drive. A very good store in Dervaig provided for most of our needs. The owners next door were very helpful and friendly and made our stay a memorable experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galbraith...
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint, Comfortable and Welcoming. Go on Treat yourself !”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Attached to Achnadrish House, The White Cabin was home to my wife and myself for a week during our visit to Mull.
It provided us with a perfect base and was large enough to prove practical however small enough to retain a certain "cuteness" to its character.

On arrival we were greeted by Eugenie, the wife of the couple who own Achnadrish. She was very friendly and helpful and showed us around the cabin.
The cabin itself had a modern well equipped kitchen, a large and comfortable lounge/bedroom and a well kept bathroom with shower.

Sitting at the north end of the Island the Cabin is relatively remote but only a short drive of a couple of miles to Dervaig, a small village with a grocer shop.It is also only a 15 minute drive to Tobermory The Main town on the Island.

Mull itself is a fascinating island with lots to see and do. After a week there we came up with the following advice:

Try to get your head round the single track driving. There is a definite knack to it, try to keep traffic moving, look ahead and anticipate passing at passing places.

Go see the Sea Eagles. We met a couple on their last day and they still hadn't seen one ? On our first day we saw more Sea Eagles than crows !!! try the north west of the island between Calgary bay and Ulva ferry.

Check out the Map there a few roads running through the middle of the island that can often be used as short cuts.

Go to Iona and feel spiritually lifted. Whether you are religious or not the serenity of the Abbey cant fail to move you.

Take a boat trip to Staffa and Fingal's cave. ( Google images it , as it really does look that impressive)

Have a night out in the Mishnish pub in Tobermory to experience some real Hebridean hospitality, Try to go on a night with live music.

Go to Calgary beach, one of the nicest beaches in the country.

Have a day out in the south west of the island towards Fionaphort for a very different landcape. On the way down near to where the road spits, stop the car and listen for the shrieks of a Golden Eagle We saw them soaring every time we passed.
On the way back up take the other road (west coast) for some of the most dramatic scenery on any road I've seen.

If you are reasonably fit go and visit Mckinnons cave - its a bit of a hike / climb but well worth it. Don't go without a torch and check the tides to avoid getting stuck.

Ask Tommo ( Eugenies husband ) about his boat trips. He took us a trip to the isle of Muck which was lovely and then on to look for seals, whales,sharks and dolphins. He has a very good knowledge of the area and has some great stories. He is also a member of the Mull lifeboat crew, which is reassuring when your at sea.

All in all a very enjoyable and successful holiday.
We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing