We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
54
12
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
12
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner beautiful location remote location three nights feel very welcome peace and quiet three courses breakfast and dinner visiting iona home from home wonderful place alice jura tony dog house island
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This was an organised walking holiday with residence at Ardachy House; Tony, the owner was very welcoming and offered invaluable local advice about road travel and places to visit. I was the only vegetarian of the group but nevertheless was spoilt with a variety of menu items - I even tried vegetarian haggis! Tea and cake upon our return from our rambles each day was a particularly enjoyable event - David created our three course meals and Alice produced rather yummy cakes and confectionary items. All I can say is GO!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal4dalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Tony couldn't do enough for us, even providing gluten free toast for my breakfast. Exceptionally clean and comfortable bed. Remote location but this suited us. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

As an older couple travelling with our dog, we were looking for somewhere to stay this summer that would be quiet and dog friendly. On the recommendation of a friend we chose to stay on Mull for a week. Our choice of accommodation was based on the pet friendly options on the island, of which there weren't many, but this hotel and its location turned out to be incredible ... beautiful location (oh my goodness what a beach!), fantastic hosts (Tony the owner is adorable, friendly and very, very helpful) and a scrupulously clean, comfortable and efficient establishment. Our dog Poppy was made to feel very welcome and she quickly made herself at home!

The breakfasts and evening meals are delicious and home cooked to an extremely high standard and are great value for money as the portions are substantial! We weren't too fussed about having loads to do while we were there, the gorgeous beach and surrounding countryside was enough for us, but we did spend one day travelling round the island and, lovely though it was with it's busier little towns and perfect beaches, we were glad to get back to our home from home and decided we loved Ardalanish Bay more than anywhere that week ... such a gorgeous spot and a scenic and interesting beach with no one on it but us most days.

Usually our rule is not to go back to the same place twice on holiday, but after seeing the beauty of Mull and visiting Iona and the gorgeous tidal island of Erraid, we feel compelled to visit again one day and perhaps next time visit some of the other islands as part of our trip. Unfortunately, we went at the wrong time of year to see the puffins on the island of Lunga and from what we have read it would be worth going back a bit earlier in the summer just for that alone!

This is definitely one of the loveliest holidays we have had in our many years and certainly one of the longest reviews we have written!

Room tip: Quiet, scenic, dog friendly
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy47_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Tony has made this property heaven on earth. Peaceful, picturesque and homely. Good selection of evening food which is home made. Tony is the perfect host and is always there when required. It is a great base to see the island of Mull in its entirety. Will be back for sure.

Room tip: All rooms are upstairs with great views.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimb402016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Quiet, peaceful, marvelous ocean views. Short walks to a beach with fabulous coastal scenery. We took walks in the neighborhood and enjoyed birds and got to see Red Deer. Very easy drive to Fionnphort for the ferry ride to Iona.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews