We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in Stornoway”
other travellers have booked this property
View from rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from rear of cottage
Cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
View from rear of cottage
Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
Twin/ Double bedroom
Twin/Double Bedroom
Kingsize  Bed with en suite shower room
Bathroom With overhead shower
Multi fuel  stove
View from rear of cottage
Sheep grazing on farm
Thistle
View of Holm farm Island
View of road to Iolaire Monument
Sunset view taken from cottage
View of War Memorial from cottage
Traigh Mor Beach - Tolsta
Sunrise at Stornoway harbour
Callanish Stones
Bosta Beach- Bernera
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmbuchan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay in Stornoway”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ancris thought of everything yet was very unobtrusive. The house was spotless and well located a 10 minute drive from Stornoway. We would gladly book this cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Hi Jenny Thank you for taking time to review Stoneyfield South Cottage I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Lewis, it will be lovely to welcome you back. Kind regards Ancris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillian g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked this cottage for a short break for a family celebration and the photos do not do it justice. There is a lovely warm feeling about the cottage with all mod cons. Really comfy beds and two shower rooms. A real home from home with the comfort of a really nice hotel. Dont hesitate you will love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you for review, delighted you enjoyed your stay. Regards Ancris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan h
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Working stay ”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just spent 3 nights at this cottage. It was lovely clean and comfortable. The Owner was very helpful and friendly. First time renting a cottage on the island will definitely rent it again next time we're here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thanks for review, delighted you found the cottage comfortable. I hope to see you again. Best wishes Ancris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan...
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic self cater”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Although quite different for us, from the usual B and B, this self cater cottage was perfect. About 2 minutes from Stornaway this place was amazing. Owner met us out front after the Ferry docked, which was behind. Then after setting us up allowed us to follow her into town to the local Thai restaurant.

The house was spotless, up to date, with a huge amount of amenities. Everything we could ask for. The price was exceptionally fair, and the view from the back yard was incredible. We are so happy to have such an amazing place and this will be a hard one to get a room at as more people become aware. Tons of living space, three rooms, fresh linens, and everything that should be expected, but are often forgotten, in a self catered facility.

Thanks for making our trip amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review, delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and I hope you loved our beautiful Islands. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. Best wishes Ancris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne F
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Stoneyfield Cottage and it was fantastic. Ancris and Iain are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. There was a very generous welcome pack of supplies to get started, as change over day is a Sunday, there are no shops open on a Sunday in Lewis, this was very helpful. The house was perfect for our needs and extremely comfortable and has everything a family might need for a holiday, even wifi for the teenagers (and others). All the bedrooms are a generous size, the beds lovely and comfy and the back porch and utility makes it easy to keep sand etc out. The house is situated about a mile out of Stornoway surrounded by farmland, you get a lovely sea view front and back and a lovely view of the whole town. We had our dog with us and he loved the enclosed garden and the frequent visitors at the fence (cows). We are frequent visitors to Lewis and we have defiantly found our preferred place to stay. Thank you Ancris, we will defiantly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope Mum, the boys and Rolo are refreshed after the holiday. Thanks again for staying at Stoneyfield South Cottage. Best wishes Ancris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 136
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing