We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where nothing is ever too much trouble!”
Review of Hal O' the Wynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hal O' the Wynd
Ranked #6 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where nothing is ever too much trouble!”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Informative, engaging and ever helpful hosts who provide wonderful hospitality and excellent food in warm and scrupulously clean accommodation - the reason why we keep returning, and epitomising all that is good in the Western Isles.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    31
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
53
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed one night at Hal O' the Wynd guest house in Stornoway and found it to be a pleasant and comfortable refuge on a very stormy night. But it did not resemble the glowing descriptions we read on Tripadvisor. It was a much more modest but still satisfactory bed and breakfast. We were very glad to find it after surveying the local B&B market and finding very few available.

The location is particularly advantageous for those getting on and off the ferry by foot. It is right down town on the waterfront near the terminal. It is also right next door to the Tesco store for essential shopping.

The building is an older (circa 1850) house with very low-end furnishings. There was noticeable dust around the edge of the carpet. The in-room bathroom was modern but very small. The Internet service was very slow and intermittent and stopped completely the next morning. Parking was on the street at the curb in front of the building.

The breakfast was well prepared and plentiful. We left feeling well fed.

The price for two was 70 pounds, about in line with other nicer B&B's we have experienced recently.

In summary Hal O' the Wynd was a good port in a storm but no where near the star it was made out to be.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

what a wonderful and friendly couple own this B.B they were pleasant helpful breakfast was excellent accomodation spotless, right next to ferry terminal and bus station, also 2 minutes walk from town centre, prices were very good I will certainly return againj

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186525Rose61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just opposite the port of Stornoway. Luckily they had a room because the crossing from Ullapool was a real pain for me (but I do easily sea sick).

The room on the ground floor was very nice. Probably the most comfortable beds we had in Scotland. I had a fantastic dream (famous actor wanting to marry me.... guess that !) which made my day, despite the poor, poor weather on the island. Could it be the beds???
Bathroom clean and new. The extra touch: single use slippers (individually packaged) and chocolate pralines made in the Hebrides on the pillow. That was a real elegant treat.

Breakfast was OK, but could be better. Crockery looked a bit cheap. The breakfast room was too crowded for its size.

Ali and Shona do make good hosts: they have quite some information to share.

A nice and clean place, conveniently located for the city and for touring Lewis

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you are going to Lewis this B & B is right opposite The ferry Landing. It has recently been taken over by a young couple and they are from Lewis. We are so glad that we picked this one to go to. Reasonable rates Lovely breakfasts near resturants for dinner, taxi service was great (weather was terrible). Meals we had for dinner were wonderful .
We had partly come for business and partly holiday - weather was against us from the start. renamed Stornaway - Stormaway, but would go back again Historically it is wonderful, I must admit we would go back in a flash if the weather was better, the locals said it was the worst May they had, had in years.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alter45nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.3 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
276 reviews
1.5 km away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
306 reviews
1.0 km away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hal O' the Wynd? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hal O' the Wynd

Property: Hal O' the Wynd
Address: 2 Newton Street, Stornoway HS1 2RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,046 - ₹ 12,726
Hotel Class:3 star — Hal O' the Wynd 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yards from the Ferry terminal and Town CentreThe Guest House was built in 1854 and is popular for its friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere.We are located opposite the ferry terminal directly across the road from the terminal entrance/exit on Newton Street, Stornoway.The house has three large ensuite and two large standard bedrooms. All rooms have a sea view and panoramic views of Lews Castle grounds and beyond to Arnish point. It also has a well laid out dining room. All rooms are centrally heated with individual thermostatic control; Freeview and secure free Wi-fi available in all rooms as well as tea and coffee making facilities.The town centre is just a few minutes walk, we are located very close to the bus station which boasts an excellent service to all major attractions on the island. The Western Isles tourist office is located on Cromwell Street in the centre of Stornoway, where you can find information on all the local events and festivals, tours, etc. There are local car hire firms which can be booked from the guest house and delivered to the door, we can also arrange for guided tours of the island.We have a private rear garden which you may use for a barbecue to taste our local fresh seafood, perhaps with a bottle of fine wine.Whatever you decide to do on your holiday, we will try to make it a pleasant and happy one to remember and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hal O' the Wynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hal O' The Wynd Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing