We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hazel C
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

a quiet location good as a central location for touring around .Owner popped in a lot with cakes/treats and suggestions . I wish there had been more info prior to arrival or booking as to the access to the property as there are steep stairs from the single track road . It had good sunset views.The mattresses in the main bedroom could do with upgrading ....all other furniture was very comfortable ..... we had issues with the woodburner as the maintenance had not picked up a corrosion problem which resulted in the back plate shattering while hot and the fire brigade being called out to make safe ..... some of the cleaning needs to be more through between rentals ...no one wants to go on holiday and have to clean the cooker and hob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet
Liked least: poor cleanliness of cooker and wood burner maintenance
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for your ‘Comfortable’ review of ‘An Taigh Clach’.
Regarding access, our website clearly states “This property is not suitable for wheelchair access. Neither is this property suitable for people with limited mobility”. The aerial picture on TripAdvisor / Holiday Lettings clearly show the steps to the front and rear of the property. If we had been informed that there was an issue with regard to the cooker, we would obviously have dealt with this immediately. With regard to the multi fuel stove, we clean the stove at each changeover and there was nothing to indicate corrosion or imminent failure on the inside of the rear flue blanking plate. You were right to call the Fire Brigade when the plate fractured and we were informed that there were only a few embers in the stove at the time and that they had already been doused with water. The Fire Brigade responded extremely quickly, did not have to take any action and assured us all that everything was safe. Whilst every endeavour was made to source a replacement blanking plate, we were unable to source one in the UK before the end of your stay. Alternative heating in the form of three wall mounted heaters was available at all times. With regard to the mattress in the double bedroom – it is impossible to satisfy everyone’s individual preferences.
Your comments in our guest book - “Thank you so much – you have spoiled us right from the start. The cottage is perfect in every way. Your warmth and kindness and the peace and quiet here was what was needed! Trip Advisor will get the full report A****** Well done !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Famil...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Already booked our next holiday at the wonderful An Taigh Clach!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I think that when the children piled out of the car and ran round the house and then inside, cheering all the while, that said it all for me! After our wonderful previous visit it felt so good looking forward to what we knew would be a lovely holiday in a lovely house, hosted by a lovely family - thank you Val and Calum.

Have booked already for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the view
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A property and hosts not to be missed!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We recently returned from our second visit to the beautiful Outer Hebrides and this wonderful cottage. Set in the ideal location for exploring the isles of Lewis and Harris the property caters for all you could ask and more.

On arrival not only are you presented with an immaculate property but complementary home bakes, bottles of wine, decanter of whiskey and a freeze stock with home reared lamb. Val and Calum also offer carb and lobster (small charge) later in the week which we make 5 star hotels seem sub standard!!!

The property is enclosed by fencing and gated drive which was ideal for our dogs and plenty of space for them!!

While there was only 2 of us (and dogs) there is more than enough space for 4.

Val and Calum go out of there way to ensure there guests are fully catered for and can advise of some of the many places to visit including the world renowned beaches and there local knowledge will take you to place you would otherwise miss.

We look forward to returning to Lewis at some point and An Taigh Clach would be where we would stay!!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floridian...
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you visit the Isle of Lewis and Harris, this is where you must stay!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

An Taigh Clach is not to be missed! This is a home put together with loving care and great taste. The hosts, Val and Calum, are extremely hospitable without being intrusive. They met us on arrival to show us around and made themselves available if needed. All amenities are state of the art, the home is spotless, the views are exquisite and the kitchen had everything you could possibly need including freshly baked scones, breads and a bottle of wine. The location is an easy drive to the "Black Houses", the Callanish stones and the Butt of Lewis. This is a stunning area. The weather was showery when we were there and is was lovely anyway. This was definitely the highest quality and best value accommodation we had in all of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
213rhunte...
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at An Taigh Clach made our holiday on Lewis perfect. We were blessed with great weather but even if it had been poor the house is so beautiful, is in such a great setting and is so well equipped that our stay would still have been comfortable and enjoyable. The welcome from Valerie and Calum was so warm and friendly that we immediately began to relax into our holiday, and they continued to offer just the right amount of advice and assistance throughout our stay. All the little extras (tasty treats waiting for us on arrival, offers of locally caught seafish) added to our enjoyment. This place is very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property and location and the friendly welcome
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing