We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical Islay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Machrie Hotel & Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Have been going to The Machrie now for 23yrs and look forward to our yearly soujourn. O.K. so it's not 5 star but the course, the staff, the scenery and the food have always been 1st class. The beds are clean and need an upgrade but as we only sleep there it really does not matter. We had already booked for 2011 so we hope they can find a buyer as we will be sore pressed to find another venue that give so much value for money. Good luck to Ian and the remaining staff and I wish them all the best fore the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

I will be travelling to Islay in May 2011. I contacted a B&B for a reservation and, among other things, was informed that the hotel and golf course are in receivership. Islay Golf Club reports that the course continues to operate and maintenance continues. I have not gotten word on the hotel.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank Duck1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We make our pilgrimage to the Machrie every year as you have there, one of the very best links golf courses in the world and that is the reason for the visit. The fact theres a hotel on the doorstep is just perfect. Hotel is not in the best repair, but the golf course has seen great improvements and tweaks over the years and is a perfect links course in every way, thats why you need to go to Islay. We have always found the staff to be very accommodating and always look forward to our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This hotel is truly awful. Rain coming in through ceiling, no hot water in hand basin, all other water in bathroom brown which I know is a problem in peaty areas but this actually had lumps in it! Huge cob webs hanging from light fittings and wallpaper hanging from walls.
The whole hotel is shabby and rundown and needs LOTS of money spending on it. Despite all this they still charge nearly £80 pppn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at this "establishment" recently because there was nowhere else.
OMG! What a disaster! And a management team that did not give a damn!
Would advise ALL to give a very wide birth!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pitters1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
0.0 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
47 reviews
0.0 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
277 reviews
0.0 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
16 reviews
0.0 km away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
550 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machrie Hotel & Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machrie Hotel & Golf Links

Address: Port Ellen PA42 7AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Price Range: ₹ 6,358 - ₹ 9,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Machrie Hotel And Golf Links
Machrie Hotel Port Ellen
Machrie Hotel Links
Machrie Hotel & Golf Links Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing