We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Haverstock

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
limmylady
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning house”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Great stay at haverstock, house is stunning & I can highly recommend it. Great for groups, it has a a very sociable setup.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy b
Dromana, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a very comfortable family Christmas”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived at Haverstock a couple of days before Christmas to find the house warm and welcoming. The house was decorated with Christmas trees and other decorations throughout. The house was ideal for our group of ten and also for a get together with more friends on Boxing Day. The owner's agent Kirsteen was very helpful and went out of her way to help us whenever she could. We were there with an age group from 1 year to people nearly in their seventies and all tastes were catered for.
If I have any criticism at all it would be that the house was too warm even for someone coming back to Scotland from Australia in the middle of winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you stay again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
596Andrew
Muscat, Oman
1 review
“Amazing Property, Great Stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed here was a base for visiting universities in and around the central belt and invited extended family.

Majestic property, sympathetically upgraded, well equipped, clean, well looked after. Size was fantastic for 4 adults & 2 teenagers. Had everything you need for a comfy stay. The kitchen inc AGA oven added wow factor. The bathrooms were modern and huge. The patio doors opened wide to allow evening sun in and a pleasant place to sit. Only missing item can think would have been good to have was a BBQ. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and AGA Oven
Liked least: Sticky bathroom door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“an ideal house and location”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

All the family loved the house and the location was ideal with easy access to Stirling, Edinburgh, Glasgow and the countryside all of which various members of the family enjoyed. The house was large enough for our party of ten adults and two toddlers. Very comfortable with ample cooking facilities, dining room and large garden in a quiet location. The family are keen for a repeat visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandsandb
dundee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing house!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I booked this house for my hen weekend. The house is absolutely stunning- all the rooms are decorated to a very high standard and the decor is tasteful. Everyone thought it looked even better than the photos. The kitchen in particular has the wow factor and we all felt extremely comfortable there- spending the majority of our time around the kitchen island!
My only quibble with the house is that it is advertised as sleeping 10 (there was 9 of us) but I think some improvements are required in order to comfortably sleep any more than 8. This house is absolutely massive but there are only 4 bedrooms, which comfortably sleep 8. Any extra guests have a sofa bed, which has been put in the very grand upstairs lounge. The sofa bed seems like an after thought- it doesn't match the decor and standard of the rest of the furniture and it seems really out of place in the massive lounge. What seems odd is that there are 4 reception rooms- matching the number of bedrooms! It seems excessive to have this many and I think this house would really benefit from either a new sofa bed being placed in the downstairs small lounge so this room would could be comfortably used as a bedroom or even better, just make this another bed room (because this is on the ground floor it would also make it accessible for people with physical disabilities).
Another problem was that no towels or bedding had been provided for the 9th guest. So not only were they sleeping in the main lounge, the didn't have any towels or bedding. We managed fine with what we had but it was annoying. I would have expected a house like this to have a cupboard with some extra towels and linens/blankets/pillows but we couldn't find anything. I could have text the company but we didn't realise this until quite late in the evening on so I didn't bother.
We also spent ages trying to figure out how to use the built in speakers in the kitchen/lounge area but could not get this to work and there were not any instructions for this that we could find.
Other than the bed issue, the house was outstanding and we all had a fantastic stay. Bridge of Allan in a lovely town and the house is in a great location for doing loads of activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful kitchen
Liked least: the facilities for the 9th/10th guests
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Haverstock after your recent stay.
Regarding the issue re linen and towels for the sofa bed; I can only apologise for this oversight on our behalf. Usually if a guest requires a guest bed this is a ‘tick box ‘option done so by the guest on booking. As this box wasn’t ticked it was not obvious to us on first glance however this is not an excuse for us not providing the bedding etc. It should have been apparent that this was needed from the number of people indicated in your booking. We could have easily provided this if you had contacted us and I hope that this not have a detrimental effect on your weekend.

There are 2 sofa beds in the property and the one we always offer guests the use of is the new one in the family area as opposed to the one you used in the Drawing Room. This sofa bed has been in place in the property for a while however it is totally functional despite its rather dated cover compared to the rest of the furnishings.
I appreciate your comments re the possibility of creating another bedroom as opposed to having 4 public rooms however we want to ensure that all guests have maximum use of the 2 bathrooms and 1 WC and feel that creating another bedroom, therefore making this property able to sleep 10 rather than 8 + 2 , would not give guests the best use of the bathrooms.
The built in speakers in the kitchen/lounge area have been temporarily disabled as they were proving to be slightly problematic for guests to use; the provision of the docking station in this area should have hopefully eradicated this. I have taken on board your comments however and will ensure that this is made clear in the information folder in the house.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Haverstock despite the oversight of the 9th guest and hope to see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing