We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 125
US$ 113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 124
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 222
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 89
US$ 70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathaven Hotel(Strathaven)
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radstone Hotel(Larkhall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
196
200
127
77
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
200
127
77
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrefurbished roompool and jacuzziafternoon teaan overnight staywet roombirthday treatbuffet stylea bit tiredfood was lovelyfour poster bedhigh standardcooked breakfastevening mealfirst classleisure facilitieslovely roomrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Went here for a night on a deal, but had a great time, very comfortable friendly staff, nothing to complain about. Beautiful place all round.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOT1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Used a "Great Deal" voucher for this that also included a £40 voucher towards our dinner. Left EK and got there in less than 20 minutes, so not far away. The hotel is in that old Tudor style from the front and the entrance is nice and modern. The Perch Bar & Bistro is very nice and the other areas that have been refurbished were lovely brown and cream colours. Our room was a surprise. It was obviously one of the rooms that hadn't been refurbished, with an old tv, kettle, telephone (not connected), hairdryer (in the bathroom) and radio that looked like it was pre-war dated. The bed was comfy, if not really hard. We went for a shot of the Spa & Gym and the gym was also a bit dated, but the machines worked well enough and with 4 x cross trainers, 4 x treadmills, 4 x bikes and a vibrating platform which was excellent. There was also a room for the weights and other apparatus for weights which looked very good. The changing rooms were smart and an 18m pool and sauna complemented the gymnasium perfectly. At dinner, we entered the old restaurant as the Perch Bistro was full, but this was nicer, more space, well laid out and a dark, romantic setting. The food was lovely, we both had the soup for starters, my wife had Moroccan meatballs and I had the Chicken and Haggis Pie which looked huge, but I wish I'd asked for chips as their was a lack of something to accompany the pie!! The sweet, a White Chocolate, Orange and Honeycomb cheesecake was delightful along with the ice cream. After that we had a couple of drinks in the bar before retiring for the night. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was huge including sausages, eggs, bacon, black pudding, haggis, mushrooms and tomatoes as well as the cereals, yoghurts, tea and coffee. It was a lovely breakfast. The only annoying thing for me was the traffic along the roadside, but with that and the old furniture aside, the hotel was really nice and we enjoyed it. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. A great deal for only £49, so if that came up again, I'd jump at the chance!!! Would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rossmac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

What a transformation since my last visit a couple of years ago, night & day and still being improved!!Greeted by smiling and friendly receptionist with a bit of banter thrown in, a great start to an overnight stay. Refurbishment in full swing (it was well overdue!) Well decorated rooms (we were in 12) appear to have no expense spared on furnishings etc. Restaurant service and quality food well served and presented at reasonable cost. Breakfast was one of our better ones and puts many of the bigger chains to shame. Overall a very pleasant visit and we have booked again for end of March.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms at front of hotel are on fairly busy 'main' road, try for side rooms over looking the greenhouses
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxer1van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed on 12th February with 13yr old daughter for the night. Reception staff lovely. Room was superb, just been done up. Enjoyed the swimming and jacuzzi but sadly the sauna was not working. Food was very good. Plenty time and space to chill out which we done without being hurried on. Manager even went the extra mile and got me a few cigs from kitchen staff so Thank You very much for that, I really did appreciate it. I don't drive so wasn't able to go a few miles to the shop to get some. All in all a lovely hotel. I will be back. Easy to get to by public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarzanschic40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed in the popinjay Sat 18th Feb for 1 night wish it was more, on arrival met at reception by the friendly staff, having no problems dealing with any of us, after all there was a party of 16, which in some places could have led to problems. Had the key of our room in no time (Room 7) lovely refurbished room. some of company in original rooms older fashioned but spotlessly clean. No problem with seating large company together for dinner. Food choice excellent. throughout the night served by very helpful staff. Although a function was taking place there were no problems with noise or guests leaving the premises at the end. Used the residents bar until 4AM and the Night Watchman Colin made sure everything was to our satisfaction. Lovely buffet breakfast followed by a relaxing time in the tv lounge until we left at 3pm.
Looking forward to the next deal POPINJAY- BRING IT ON !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews