We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful hideaway”

Review of Barwheys

Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys
Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Barwheys - Beautiful 'honeymoon suite' in the Byre
Barwheys - Stylish kitchens
Barwheys - Luxurious en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - in the beautiful Ayrshire countryside
Barwheys - Flat screen TV
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lyndsey19...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After looking for a while for somewhere for my sister in laws hen night, we found Barwheys. I couldn't believe how beautiful and peaceful it was.

We were looking for somewhere that suited all age groups and this certainly did. As there were 3 connected cottages and a separate games room, we found it perfect for people who wanted a bit of peace or to go to bed earlier.

All bedrooms have been decorated to such a high quality that no one was left with a room that wasn't as lovely as the rest. Bonus was each room had its own bathroom.

In the middle cottage, there is a table that seats 16 which was perfect so everyone could sit and eat together.

The whole place was finished perfectly. It was the small things that made Barwheys perfect. I will definitely be back with my family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: Poor phone signal but I didn't find this a problem
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely comments Lyndsey. We would love to have you back at Barwheys. Best wishes the Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAF6364
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just a great getaway”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great getaway with a group of friends and the location was ideal.
The quality of everything was top notch and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't there, which was a very pleasant surprise.
It is great to have the big kitchen and dining area where we could all be together but we also had separate areas that we could find some peace and quiet if required.
The games room was ideal for a bit of fun and the big screen was spot on, especially with the rugby World Cup final being played while we were there. If there was one thing missing, I would say that a fridge in the games room kitchen would be helpful.
Everything was good from picking up the keys to leaving and I would have no hesitation in recommending Barwheys to anyone looking for a top quality escape in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having all my friends in one place and sharing time together.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments Linda. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best wishes
The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cad201520...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

16 adults booked Barwheys to celebrate a family 60th birthday. We all enjoyed a fantastic weekend from start to finish. Accomodation was presented to an extremely high standard, with beautiful surrounding countryside. Owners were very helpful and unobtrusive. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, we really value your feedback.

We hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation and friendly, helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed at Barwheys for a special family weekend birthday celebration. Fantastic, high-spec finished accomodation. Stunning location too. They had really thought of everything to make our stay very homely; a great balance of quality and comfort. I have already recommended to work colleagues and would love to visit again. Special thanks to Clare and Drew of Barwheys for their fantastic customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments - we really appreciate it.

We would love to see you back here again!

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SStraiton
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Barwheys for a family celebration, and had an absolutely fantastic weekend! Barwheys is a stunning destination and from the moment we arrived, we all felt we had made an excellent choice!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are really delighted you had a great time here at Barwheys and we do hope that you visit us again.

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 1,990
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing