We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place lived up to all my expectations.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Durrie Cottage

Durrie Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Durrie Cottage
Porch Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Durrie Cottage
Porch
Hall
Bookshelf
Living Room
Sewing Machine
Lamp
Main bathroom
Shower room
Shower room
Torridon from Beinn Damph
Summer
Autumn
Winter
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
View over garden gate
Sunset over loch Torrion
Dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
thomasbE5...
Delemont, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place lived up to all my expectations.”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

During a week of howling gales, torrential rain and regular snow showers, the accommodation has to be something special: cosy, warm, practical and interesting to shelter in. A few touches of luxury, like the spanking new bathroom with underfloor heating, plus the highly efficient and friendly neighbour who greeted us on arrival were most welcome. When the clouds lifted for a short while, the view from every window was stunning. I shall go back at the first opportunity.....so please don't book the same week that I want :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of Contacts
Liked least: No Complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie N
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, beautiful vieuw, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice, the landscape is amazing, but it could be cleaner there is a lots of dust and spiderweb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the landscap
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thanks for your review Marie. We’re pleased that you loved the view as much as we do but very sorry to hear that you thought the cottage could have been cleaner. We hear that the spiders have been enjoying the unusually dry weather so we’ve invested in an extendable feather duster to make sure we can reach any out of reach cobwebs. We’re at a loss to explain where any dust might have come from but Sheila who looks after the cottage takes great pride in keeping it spotless and will always pop round to make things right if guests let her know that they're not happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jscaife81
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great little cottage with good view over the loch. Fantastic, remote location and nicely priced too.

Everything you would need for a few days stay is supplied, the rooms are a good size, there was only two of us staying in the cottage but could easy sleep more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and romantic”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This place is a little gem, hidden in a great location. If you like peaceful holidays then this is the place for you. We stayed for 4 nights in mid August and instantly fell in love with the property. The locals are friendly, and the village of Torridon is equipped with a small local shop for food. The only thing that this place is really lacking is WiFi.

It's located close by to numerous walks and a short drive away from places such as Applecross and the Isle of Skye. (a car is needed)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stoves and modern bathrooms
Liked least: There were a lot of flies for some reason....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trianja
Linz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great ans do scottish!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed there together with three friends and it was perfect. We cooked, enjoyed the evening on the fire, had fun in the nice garden and it was soooo quite. We came for the Celtman Triathlon and we had enough space also for my bike. I feelt so scottish!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing