We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oh my God charles!!!!"”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Oh My Gooooddd Charles!!!!
This could be the introducing sentence for this hotel! Have you "blu blood"? Is your father a duke? Noooo???? and why are you here? Maybe even the Queen could be embarrassed in this "noblesse".
But the Kitchen no! It is not in the same level of the "importance" they pretend.
Every meal is too much elaborated and nothing simple: so, the taste looses itself step by step.
And the rooms: it looks like in the Mary Poppins tale!
Anyway, every very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alessandro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to hear your opinion that the hotel is not welcoming and made you feel out of place. We are unsure why this was the case, as you can see from many of our reviews, people often comment on how welcoming, professional and courteous our staff are. Our staff are also regularly complimented in their ability to be professional yet informal with guests and creating a very welcoming atmosphere.

we are also sorry that you did not enjoy our food.

Should you wish to discuss your stay personally please do not hesitate to contact us on 01445 791242 or info@thetorridon.com.

Kind regards,

Dan and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 459 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were at the Torridon for our friends wedding, what an amazing place! In a beautiful location, great rooms, amazing food, and staff where nothing is too much trouble, and that's before you even start looking at the Whisky bar! I cannot recommend this place enough and will be returning when we are next up in the Highlands!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I sailed to the Torridon from Italy in a large mega yacht as Captain. The Owner wished to have a drink in the bar to reminisce about a previous stay he had had many years ago and to share it with his family. He called to ask permission to come in to sit at the bar using the private pier located near by using our tender. He was extremely disapointed to hear that he was not welcome because the bar was only for use by the hotels guests with a room.
On one hand I can understand this to keep the standards and exclusivness of the place but for this particular event I believe the hotel made a serious mistake.
For this reason I leave a review without ever having stayed in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank Piers B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for your review. Was it just your client coming for a drink or the whole super yacht? In order to retain exclusivity and ensure that we look after our hotel residents offering them the best service possible, we do have a rule that does not permit non-residents into the hotel after 6pm unless you have a reservation for the Torridon restaurant and wish to dine. Non-residents are more than welcome any time before 6pm for lunch and afternoon tea or even just for a drink. We find this is a good compromise, allowing people not staying to experience the Torridon, yet offering those people wishing to stay as residents a level of exclusivity for which they come to expect. We also have the Torridon Inn available to everyone from 8am – 11pm.

Kind Regards,

Daniel and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at The Torridon, celebrating the wedding of our friends. The weekend was perfect from the moment we arrived till we reluctantly left. Our room was luxurious comfortable, with gorgeous mountain views. The food was out of this world and we enjoyed sampling a few whiskys from the extensive selection. We particularly enjoyed the clay pigeon shooting and archery. All of the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel totally at home. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Pets allowed in the cottage, next to the Inn. Make sure to ask for a room with a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a short stay at the Torridon recently with our dog and we were a bit surprised at the 'leave your dog at home' review. The Torridon is all that others have said in regard to its superb location; a first class hotel where attention to detail is everything; attentive and friendly staff; and of course, top class dining.
We have the best behaved dog in the country. Keira is a Kerry Blue who does not cast her hair, is very obedient, is people and child friendly and, most of all, is pretty with it!! However, much as we love our dog we recognise that not everyone feels the same way and there is the real problem that some people are allergic to dogs and cats. We found the cottage ideal accomodation with a separate lounge, large bathroom and big comfortable bed and plenty of room for the dog to wander. The entrance hall has doors at both sides and a good floor covering that meant the dog could be properly cleaned and dried before circulating in the living areas. Admittedly we did not have a loch view but we were happy to sit in the lounge of the hotel before and after dinner and enjoy all the facilities of the main accomodation knowing that Keira was not locked up in a small bedroom. We could exercise the dog in the beautiful grounds at any time and we were rather pleased to have some of the staff make a fuss of her and tell us that they remembered her from a previous visit.
All in all the Torridon lives up to its very high reputation and my advice would be, if you have a dog you will be well looked after in very comfortable accommodation with excellent facilities and superb dining.

Room Tip: The cottage is separate from but immediately adjacent to the main hotel with its own parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
20.1 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
16 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
303 reviews
34.7 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
376 reviews
27.2 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
219 reviews
16.4 km away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: ₹ 13,951 - ₹ 33,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury 5 star hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing