We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivy Cottage

Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background
Living room
View from patio at Ivy Cottage
Master Double Bedroom with Anta tartan
Driveway leading to ivy Cottage
Kitchen / dining area
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Twin Bedroom
Cottage with a snowy  Ben Wyvis in background
Kitchen
Nighttime sky at cottage
Standing stones above cottage
Master double Bedroom
Master bedroom
Sheep graze in the fields surrounding the cottage.
Bedroom 3 with superior bunk beds.
View from kitchen window.
A warm welcome awaits you.
View from patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jane M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent the Easter long weekend at Ivy Cottage and couldn't have been happier - we wished it could have been longer! The cottage was immaculate and cosy, and the hosts, Angus, Fiona and Emma, had thought of everything in terms of making it a very easy stay for us. The views from the cottage are sensational and we loved the peaceful outlook over both Dingwall and Strathpeffer. The cottage is ideally suited to visiting the surrounding areas as there are so many great places just a relatively short and scenic drive away. We also loved just staying put and enjoying the river and extensive land behind the cottage to go for walks etc. Angus was very welcoming and our children loved being involved in the lambing. We would recommend this as a family holiday experience. The welcome basket was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
It was a pleasure having you all at Ivy Cottage and seeing the children so involved in the busy lambing period made our day. Pity they missed todays excitement as the first totally black lamb was born on the croft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarmarSur...
Surrey Uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful place to stay. The cottage is beautiful, thoughtfully equipped and delightfully decorated with the most amazing views. The welcome basket was a lovely touch. Best of all though was the friendliness of Angus, the owner, he was so helpful to us. We felt like family guests rather than just holiday makers. The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the cottage, the sheep, the owner, in fact everything!every tuning
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
It makes running the cottage so rewarding when we here that people have enjoyed their break at Ivy Cottage and they have been able to enjoy the stunning views and day to day life on a working Highland Croft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break in this cottage. The cottage was very comfortable, clean, well maintained and well equipped. The welcome basket and Easter eggs for the girls were very thoughtful and much appreciated. Amazing views from all windows and lots of wildlife to enjoy. No one can moan about washing dishes when they can watch red kites from the kitchen window! If you like bird watching this is a great place to be. The girls loved spending time with Angus and the newborn lambs. No one wanted to leave and we are already planning a return visit. There are loads of places to visit and lots of lovely walks to enjoy. Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable the cottage was and the amazing views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage and the girls enjoyed helping out in the lambing shed. Shep is still as naughty as ever but looking forward to seeing you all back at Ivy Cottage again !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindaquai...
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ivy Cottage is the BEST!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Ivy Cottage is in a wonderful location, at the top of a hill, so the views past the sheep-filled meadows to the hills and snow-covered mountains beyond, were incredible. Angus was the best possible host and provided us with a lovely and comfortable home which our family of three generations truly enjoyed. I cannot wait to return, and I highly recommend Ivy Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House itself, the location, the views, thoughtfulness of the owner, Angus,
Liked least: only staying 2 nights was too short a stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage whilst visiting the heartland of your clan in Scotland. The views are even more stunning on a summer evening compared to a wet and wild November day so hope to see you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suleskerr...
Orphir, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Found this wee gem while looking for a last minute short break for 3 nights, very reasonable price of £50 per night. The cottage is in a lovely location, well equipped and very cosy with a wood burning stove . Angus and Fiona were very friendly and helpful, especially when there were problems with the broadband, and then the heavy snowfall. What a joy to be able to see red kites when you open the curtains, and the views are just stunning! Wonderful area for walking and wildlife, and not far from Strathpeffer or Dingwall. I would certainly recommend it, and I hope to return for a longer break soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay despite the broadband gremlins !!Glad you enjoyed watching the Red Kites.
Amazing sight this morning - the red kite swooped to steal a wee field mouse Millie cat was stalking and about to pounce on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing