We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strathpeffer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The richmond hotel is one of the best places i have ever stayed!
Jeremy and Heather were two of the nicest and most accomidating people I have ever come across.
I stayed in the hotel for my sisters wedding, the rooms were massive for getting ready in and were spotless.
The beds were lovely and comfortable, even the bunkbeds!
The breakfast was fantastic with a great deal of choice and quick service.
The bar area was lovely and heated and although it was quiet it suited us well as we brought a number of the wedding party up the night after the wedding for a few drinks in the well priced bar.
The surrounding area was lovely and a perfect venue for a wedding!
Thanks again to everyone for making the weekend so enjoyable!!!
Would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chig91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

Don't let first appearances deceive you as the signage and the exterior of the hotel are not indicative of what you will find inside. The host, Jeremy Fitch is charming and very accommodating and the hotel rooms are spacious, clean and furnished appropriately for this Victorian era hotel. From the moment that we entered the hotel, Jeremy made us feel welcome. As well, Heather is an excellent cook and all the meals that we had within the hotel were excellent. Consequently , we would recommend this hotel to our friends and family and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I stayed at the Richmond for a friends wedding but unfortunately it was a disappointment. Location wise it was lovely, breakfast was ok but the hall on the first floor absolutely stank of stale smoke. The room was ok but small but the bathing facilities were dreadful. No shower, only a shower head connected to the taps and no hot water. I may be a bit old fashioned but I'd expect if I was spending £75 to stay a night there's be a shower, hot water and no smell. I was expecting to be asked whether I enjoyed my stay upon checking out, nope not even that basic courtesy. I would stay in Strapeffer again but definately not at the Richmond, thumbs down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maupa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Richmond Hotel for a night while attending a wedding in Strathpeffer, and we both really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is lovely - we had a large room with great views, a big bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean with crisp linen and fresh towels, and the breakfast in the morning was great - just what we needed after a few too many wines at the wedding the night before.
However, the best thing about the hotel is the hosts, Jeremy and Heather. They allowed us to check in early to get ready for the wedding, and when my boyfriend discovered that he had left his kilt shoes and cufflinks behind in Aberdeen, Jeremy kindly lent us his! He was an absolute lifesaver! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a romantic or family getaway, it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussiegirlScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Food: Not good, Large portions but of things you could easily cook at home. My thai curry was just a bog standard chicken curry. Soup far too salty. Breakfast was ok but lacked something. Restaurant freezing with no atmosphere.

Room: Absolutely freezing when we arrived. Not enough towels. No soap in the bathroom! Single beds tiny. Could not get an even temperature in the shower.

Hotel generally needs a re-vamp.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank rocknic1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.3 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
601 reviews
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
409 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
811 reviews
9.5 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
4.0 km away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: Church Brae, Strathpeffer IV14 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: ₹ 3,244 - ₹ 4,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian house built in 1885 The Richmond Hotel (also known as Crystal House)retains many original features, whilst providing comfortable modern en-suite accommodation. Guests enjoy a warm welcome, a hearty breakfast and can enjoy the benefits of a licensed hotel for evening meals. Phil and Sarina aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We try to create a home from home atmosphere and are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. Want to stay even more unique then our restored 1920's Showman's wagon is for you. Aimed at couples, Lapiz, is a cosy romantic self catering getaway. While you are here why not ask about one of our complementary therapies that are available to hotel and retreat guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing