We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Highland Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$ 107
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 202
US$ 188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 112
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
326
344
88
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
344
88
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidayour waiterlong journeyself driveevening entertainmentpremier roompump roomscottish dancerslovely hotelold railwayshearings hotelsfirst classnational holidaysoverlooking the villagecoach drivergreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We went with Shearing’s on a five day break on the 05/03/2012
Absolute bargain,
Hotel is well run all staff really work hard to ensure everybody has a good break
A big thank you to Rita in the dining room for the pleasant service she provided
Food was good and a choice of four meals are provided every evening
We stayed in a bargain room it was cleaned everyday and warm,
Upgrade to a better room if you can afford it but be assured the rooms are not too bad
A big well done also to the Manager who was helping out in the bar, collecting glasses and doing numerous jobs to again ensure everybody had a good time
Entertainment was fantastic especially Ronnie Ross
Well done to ALL the staff at the Highland Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the village have better veiws
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Food excellent, entertainment good but accommodation very very tired. Were on a 3 day break and got an excellent price with shearings, so felt coud not complain too much. Was moved to a slightly better room after asking, but overall standard of housekeeping is poor. Cobwebs on ceiling trailing to curtains, dust on bedside lamps, one bath handle missing and one tap head missing! Bed linen clean otherwise I would have had a major problem staying there. Food & staff make the place. I would not have been happy if I had paid full price for my stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrunoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We've stayed at this hotel three times & the last time was special offer on price & the Hotel was fully booked, What we can't understand the bar was free from 7.30pm till 10,30pm & the amount of certain guests that abused the the number of time they went to the bar was disgrace & in the restaurant certain guest abused amount of table wine while dining, I am pleased each guest now will get four vouchers.
The hotel was very good & service was excellent the Manger & his staff really did well in coping with the amount of guests

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Room, Corner Suites are good
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Due to such good value special offers the Hotel can get fully booked so it’s always advisable to book early. We have introduced a new voucher system for the included drinks and the feedback from our guests has been excellent the vouchers can be used at anytime during the day rather than between 7.30pm till 10.30 pm. This has reduced the busy periods on the bar allowing us to provide better service.
I’m glad you found service excellent and hoping you will visit again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the highland Hotel on a self drive stay with Shearings and we enjoyed
our stay very much.
Entertainment was good especially Ronnie Ross.
Food was good and all the staff all very friendly.
The only thing that let it down was finding out that the duvets covers are not changed after each guest leaves but just routinely changed, its just the top and bottom sheet are changed.
That for me was the only thing I found to be not to my liking and to be honest would make me think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 03whitfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Recently spent a three night break here & found it very comfortable & enjoyable. All staff were most welcoming, pleasant & friendly throughout our stay. The bedroom & en suite were clean, warm & comfortable & the food was first class with a good choice on the different menu offered each night. Entertainment was very good & overall it was excellent value for money. We would definitely think of going back to this hotel. The public areas on the ground floor could be improved with more adequate heating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caithnesscowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews