We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Highland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$ 103
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 134
US$ 130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
329
349
90
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
349
90
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidayour waiterlong journeyself driveevening entertainmentpremier roompump roomscottish dancerslovely hotelold railwayshearings hotelsfirst classnational holidaysoverlooking the villagecoach drivergreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We've stayed at this hotel three times & the last time was special offer on price & the Hotel was fully booked, What we can't understand the bar was free from 7.30pm till 10,30pm & the amount of certain guests that abused the the number of time they went to the bar was disgrace & in the restaurant certain guest abused amount of table wine while dining, I am pleased each guest now will get four vouchers.
The hotel was very good & service was excellent the Manger & his staff really did well in coping with the amount of guests

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Room, Corner Suites are good
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Due to such good value special offers the Hotel can get fully booked so it’s always advisable to book early. We have introduced a new voucher system for the included drinks and the feedback from our guests has been excellent the vouchers can be used at anytime during the day rather than between 7.30pm till 10.30 pm. This has reduced the busy periods on the bar allowing us to provide better service.
I’m glad you found service excellent and hoping you will visit again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the highland Hotel on a self drive stay with Shearings and we enjoyed
our stay very much.
Entertainment was good especially Ronnie Ross.
Food was good and all the staff all very friendly.
The only thing that let it down was finding out that the duvets covers are not changed after each guest leaves but just routinely changed, its just the top and bottom sheet are changed.
That for me was the only thing I found to be not to my liking and to be honest would make me think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 03whitfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Recently spent a three night break here & found it very comfortable & enjoyable. All staff were most welcoming, pleasant & friendly throughout our stay. The bedroom & en suite were clean, warm & comfortable & the food was first class with a good choice on the different menu offered each night. Entertainment was very good & overall it was excellent value for money. We would definitely think of going back to this hotel. The public areas on the ground floor could be improved with more adequate heating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caithnesscowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we stayed at the this hotel over the xmas holidays dec 10 with shearings ,we found it very welcomeing food was excellent i dont think lv seen so much food ,room ok floor boards very noisy and had to stand in the bath to get reception on my mobile ,staff could not do enough for u only down side was the main rooms down stairs was very cold and draughty could not sit by the lovely big windows as it was very very draughty would do great with double glazing and disappointed that they did not have a real fire ,,but l would go again ,beautifull setting .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merlin11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 5 day Shearings break staying at the Highland Hotel in picturesque Strathpeffer.We were both impressed by not only the hotel but the whole package.Rooms are spacious,clean,warm,en-suite and fully equipted.Staff are very friendly,very proffessional and tend to you on a personal level,a special mention to the restuarant staff who excell themselves at every meal time,with a smile.The Manager,Mr.Alistair Grantham,runs this large Victorian hotel like a military operation and still has time for a friendly chat.The menu changes daily with a good choice and the food is excellent.The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and warm with daily papers every day.The evening entertainment is superb and a special mention to the Highland Dancers and Pipers who do so much for the Highland Hospice.A long way to go...yes,but worth it.Would we go again...yes but for longer next time.The bar is raised high but the cost isn't so would we recommend this hotel for a "peaceful" stay again,a BIG RESOUNDING YES,YES,YES.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 4 poster room for little extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for lovely comments. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction; it’s really nice that you give the staff a special mention too. They do work really hard to try and make sure you enjoy your holiday and are happy when they do a good a job. The Highland Dancers are very popular with all our guests. They have been fund raising at the Hotel for several years and it’s just one the community projects we are involved in to help the local area. I’m not sure about your comments regarding a military operation. It can get a more Dads army some days but we get there in the end.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews