We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Highland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$ 116
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The White Lodge(Strathpeffer)
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping(Strathpeffer)(Great Value!)
US$ 19
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochview Guesthouse(Strathpeffer)
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 259
US$ 252
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Craigvar(Strathpeffer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linnmhor House(Strathpeffer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Lodge & Cottage(Strathpeffer)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathview(Strathpeffer)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
336
355
91
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
355
91
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidayour waiterlong journeyself driveevening entertainmentpump roomscottish dancersold railwaylovely hotelnational holidaysshearings hotelsfirst classcoach tripoverlooking the villagestandard roomplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the highland Hotel on a self drive stay with Shearings and we enjoyed
our stay very much.
Entertainment was good especially Ronnie Ross.
Food was good and all the staff all very friendly.
The only thing that let it down was finding out that the duvets covers are not changed after each guest leaves but just routinely changed, its just the top and bottom sheet are changed.
That for me was the only thing I found to be not to my liking and to be honest would make me think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 03whitfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Recently spent a three night break here & found it very comfortable & enjoyable. All staff were most welcoming, pleasant & friendly throughout our stay. The bedroom & en suite were clean, warm & comfortable & the food was first class with a good choice on the different menu offered each night. Entertainment was very good & overall it was excellent value for money. We would definitely think of going back to this hotel. The public areas on the ground floor could be improved with more adequate heating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caithnesscowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we stayed at the this hotel over the xmas holidays dec 10 with shearings ,we found it very welcomeing food was excellent i dont think lv seen so much food ,room ok floor boards very noisy and had to stand in the bath to get reception on my mobile ,staff could not do enough for u only down side was the main rooms down stairs was very cold and draughty could not sit by the lovely big windows as it was very very draughty would do great with double glazing and disappointed that they did not have a real fire ,,but l would go again ,beautifull setting .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merlin11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 5 day Shearings break staying at the Highland Hotel in picturesque Strathpeffer.We were both impressed by not only the hotel but the whole package.Rooms are spacious,clean,warm,en-suite and fully equipted.Staff are very friendly,very proffessional and tend to you on a personal level,a special mention to the restuarant staff who excell themselves at every meal time,with a smile.The Manager,Mr.Alistair Grantham,runs this large Victorian hotel like a military operation and still has time for a friendly chat.The menu changes daily with a good choice and the food is excellent.The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and warm with daily papers every day.The evening entertainment is superb and a special mention to the Highland Dancers and Pipers who do so much for the Highland Hospice.A long way to go...yes,but worth it.Would we go again...yes but for longer next time.The bar is raised high but the cost isn't so would we recommend this hotel for a "peaceful" stay again,a BIG RESOUNDING YES,YES,YES.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 4 poster room for little extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for lovely comments. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction; it’s really nice that you give the staff a special mention too. They do work really hard to try and make sure you enjoy your holiday and are happy when they do a good a job. The Highland Dancers are very popular with all our guests. They have been fund raising at the Hotel for several years and it’s just one the community projects we are involved in to help the local area. I’m not sure about your comments regarding a military operation. It can get a more Dads army some days but we get there in the end.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

i first went to this hotel about 8 years ago and was very impressed. it was warm tastefully decorated food was great and service the same. the room and decor was of a comfortable and high standard.
i travelled there again last year and was very disappointed. the room was very shabby and dirty with a shower curtain that had mould over it and did not fit the shower when we report tis we were told "not to use it and they gave us extra towels to soak up the water on the floor!
our only window did not lock or open correctly and was left open every day by the cleaner pushing a dirty duster underneath it.
the food***my partner ordered fresh cod in batter and got a frozen fish portion in breadcrumbs,another day i ordered roast of the day to be given processed turkey roll and frozen veg,and in all instances food was poorly prepared and cold..
i have noted recently that this hotel has now been discontinued from the shearings website and can relate why.
if you are going to the highlands it upsets me to say but avoid this hotel

Room Tip: look at our room before paying
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessicadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I was shocked to hear comments about the Hotel especially when other guests have left such lovely feedback. I really find it hard to believe that you were told not use the shower curtain, we always keep several new ones in stock and wash other on a regular basis. It also seems very strange that a member of housekeeping staff would prop a window open with a duster in the middle of February. All our staff are trained in environmental awareness and it would seem like a needless waste of energy to have heat escaping out a window at such a cold time of year. I am sorry you did not find the food to your liking, most of our guests leave very positive feedback about the food and other trip advisor comments reflect this. Thank you for highlighting these issues. I will certainly look into everything raised and take action were required.
Kind Regards

Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews