We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Hotel”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highland Hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We've stayed at this hotel three times & the last time was special offer on price & the Hotel was fully booked, What we can't understand the bar was free from 7.30pm till 10,30pm & the amount of certain guests that abused the the number of time they went to the bar was disgrace & in the restaurant certain guest abused amount of table wine while dining, I am pleased each guest now will get four vouchers.
The hotel was very good & service was excellent the Manger & his staff really did well in coping with the amount of guests

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Room, Corner Suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Due to such good value special offers the Hotel can get fully booked so it’s always advisable to book early. We have introduced a new voucher system for the included drinks and the feedback from our guests has been excellent the vouchers can be used at anytime during the day rather than between 7.30pm till 10.30 pm. This has reduced the busy periods on the bar allowing us to provide better service.
I’m glad you found service excellent and hoping you will visit again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    315
    86
    42
    22
See reviews for
84
409
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the highland Hotel on a self drive stay with Shearings and we enjoyed
our stay very much.
Entertainment was good especially Ronnie Ross.
Food was good and all the staff all very friendly.
The only thing that let it down was finding out that the duvets covers are not changed after each guest leaves but just routinely changed, its just the top and bottom sheet are changed.
That for me was the only thing I found to be not to my liking and to be honest would make me think twice about returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 03whitfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Recently spent a three night break here & found it very comfortable & enjoyable. All staff were most welcoming, pleasant & friendly throughout our stay. The bedroom & en suite were clean, warm & comfortable & the food was first class with a good choice on the different menu offered each night. Entertainment was very good & overall it was excellent value for money. We would definitely think of going back to this hotel. The public areas on the ground floor could be improved with more adequate heating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caithnesscowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we stayed at the this hotel over the xmas holidays dec 10 with shearings ,we found it very welcomeing food was excellent i dont think lv seen so much food ,room ok floor boards very noisy and had to stand in the bath to get reception on my mobile ,staff could not do enough for u only down side was the main rooms down stairs was very cold and draughty could not sit by the lovely big windows as it was very very draughty would do great with double glazing and disappointed that they did not have a real fire ,,but l would go again ,beautifull setting .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merlin11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 5 day Shearings break staying at the Highland Hotel in picturesque Strathpeffer.We were both impressed by not only the hotel but the whole package.Rooms are spacious,clean,warm,en-suite and fully equipted.Staff are very friendly,very proffessional and tend to you on a personal level,a special mention to the restuarant staff who excell themselves at every meal time,with a smile.The Manager,Mr.Alistair Grantham,runs this large Victorian hotel like a military operation and still has time for a friendly chat.The menu changes daily with a good choice and the food is excellent.The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and warm with daily papers every day.The evening entertainment is superb and a special mention to the Highland Dancers and Pipers who do so much for the Highland Hospice.A long way to go...yes,but worth it.Would we go again...yes but for longer next time.The bar is raised high but the cost isn't so would we recommend this hotel for a "peaceful" stay again,a BIG RESOUNDING YES,YES,YES.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 4 poster room for little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for lovely comments. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction; it’s really nice that you give the staff a special mention too. They do work really hard to try and make sure you enjoy your holiday and are happy when they do a good a job. The Highland Dancers are very popular with all our guests. They have been fund raising at the Hotel for several years and it’s just one the community projects we are involved in to help the local area. I’m not sure about your comments regarding a military operation. It can get a more Dads army some days but we get there in the end.
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
0.4 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
560 reviews
2.6 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
129 reviews
3.9 km away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
6.8 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,506 - ₹ 11,586
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing