We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Avoid at all costs if staying overnight” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromarty Arms Inn

Cromarty Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cromarty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cromarty Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs if staying overnight”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

bathroom filthy. traces of bodily fluids on toilet lid and cistern. Think it was shared with the owners as there were toiletries and used soap in the bath.The bedcovers felt and smelled as if they hadnt been changed since previous occupants and the spare quilt and cover for the pull out bed smelled of vomit.It was kept in the wardrobe so it stank and there was nowhere to hang your clothes. Breakfast was eaten while the hoovering and disinfecting of the bar went on. Owners made little effort to communicate with us especially the man. We actually felt like an inconvenience to them.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 109charity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Unfriendly, unhelpful, surly, unwelcoming staff. Not in the least interested in creating a positive impression for customers. The concept of ‘customer care’ is obviously totally alien. Sadly this typifies too many pubs, bars and hotels in rural Scotland. Pity any overseas tourists who have the misfortune to step into this bar.

The sooner places like this go to the wall, the better it will be for the tourist industry and Scotland’s reputation internationally as a tourist destination.

A great shame really, because Cromarty is just THE most delightful wee village - very picturesque.

Room Tip: Avoid altogther is the best tip I can come up with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HongKongFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cromarty hotels

Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently spent 2 great evenings at this very friendly & traditional Inn. Everything & more than you would expect from your 'Local'. Very friendly & helpfull staff , a great atmosphere & we really enjoyed our bar meal , plenty of choice & v well cooked. Well worth a visit if you're in the area & our meal was much better than one we had at a nearby rather overpriced & dull hotel in Cromarty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Inn was busy when I arrived, just after 7pm on a thursday evening. This meant I had to wait to be looked after, but looked after I was!
If you are looking for clinical lines, symetrical rooms & service then don't come here. The bar is eclectic, the rooms the same & just what is needed after a long drive.
The bar was well stocked, good choice of beers, ales & spirits.
The menu was traditional, diverse & as I sat enjoying my free pint (I was not having breakfast) I saw plate after plate of high quality, substantial meals coming out of the small kitchen. The lady (who I call a young girl) cooking showed some real talent in keeping on top of the food (i estimet at least 30 people dining + me) & I did not have to wait too long for my EXCELLENT beef olives (be warned , the food is not Nouvelle Cuisine portions & I am a big guy) which I could not finish. I did not have breakfast but teh people opposite me were ordering Full Scottish Breakfasts but did not want black pudding (did notget this in the Premier Inn in Livingston that morning).
The single room I had was greta, nice mix of homely items, clean towels & linen & even a ticking alarm clock! Majestic.
I would advise all to try this place, but don't walk in expecting a Premier Inn. The shared bathroom was clean, well stocked with toiletries & had ample hot water.

Room Tip: The limited amount of rooms means book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SetonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Rather than stop in nearby Inverness, I elected to stop in Cromarty (aprox 15 miles away) and explore the Black Isle (actually a peninsula).

After reading the reviews I knew that I would just be stopping in a basic village inn, so therefore wasnt expecting a 5 star experience. The Inn is set on the beautiful village main street (very quiet) and is very welcoming.
My room wasn't en suite, but was spacious and clean with multi channel TV.
Food is served in the bar and is nice and unexpensive. The bar is home to locals and serves real ale.
On the down side, there is no internet or mobile phone signal in the room, but I found it nice to get away from work calls for a while.

The village and harbour are beautiful. Take a few hours to have a wander round.

Breakfasts are served from 8.30am and are plentiful and nice.
Would I return? . . . . Certainly

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.4 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
22.0 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
34.5 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
23.7 km away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromarty Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromarty Arms Inn

Property: Cromarty Arms Inn
Address: Church Street, Cromarty IV11 8XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing