We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robcoll2”
Review of Achilty Hotel

Achilty Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achilty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a lovely clean and light room, lots of space and very comfortable bed. We think this B&B is a little gem! it has one of the best breakfasts in the Highlands and the hosts are really friendly too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the Hotel will be quieter as we were on the front and next to the main road. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robcoll2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

hi myself and my wife stayed there in september
lovely room cleaned every day we where there
asked for a room on ground level we where given 2 to choose from
room was coszy and warm great sleep at night

breakfast was great , hosts very friendly
great value for money breakfast set you up for the day

the slaters where very helpful

we will be back next year

thankyou for a pleasant stay from the Hendersons

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This B&B is advitised as a hotel when it dose not have any bar etc the woman on Saturday when we arrived was extremly rude made us pay on arrival we booked a twin room we got a double we arrived late 11pm but kept them informed as we were on motorbikes and had been travelling all day in heavy rain!! The sign was on the ground no lights or anything to let you see were it is!! would never stay or recommend to stay again!!! only good thing was the chef was cheery and the breakfast was nice

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikerbaz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWS, Owner at Achilty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Once again the review is not what one calls exact.
My Wife was not rude to this person .
Why did the Gentleman not request a change of room at the time?
We have same sex couples staying all the time in double rooms.
Ours is not to reason why!!!!!!!!!!!
I have said on many occassions that anonymous reviews are rather unfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

While driving up to this B&B, the weathered sign had fallen down and been set on the ground, making me a bit worried about what I was in for. However, the stay turned out to be lovely and just what I would expect from a B&B. The decor is more than a bit dated, and the layout of the building is a bit strange, but everything was clean and otherwise well-presented.

We were visiting for a wedding about a mile up the road, and the proprietor of the B&B even gave us a ride to where the reception was being held. The staff was overall very friendly and accommodating. It's a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zambixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for five nights. It is only a B&B. the owner's partner died and the couple, the Slaters, could not cope with a restuarant as well. However Mr Slater, with40 years in the hotel business, produces an excellent breakfast and the rooms are well equipped - What a change to find a shower of good pressure, good heat and space to move. Bedrooms a good size. Good Value overall.

He is a bit of a control freak - but in the nicest way. Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
1.6 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
836 reviews
4.3 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
618 reviews
12.7 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 36 in Inverness
207 reviews
1.4 km away
No photo provided
Highland Hideaway
#1 of 1 in Contin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilty Hotel

Address: Contin by Strathpeffer, Contin IV14 9EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range: ₹ 4,793 - ₹ 9,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achilty Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Achilty Hotel Contin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing