We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good”

The Lovat Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 53
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: 40 Seater Brasserie with modern surroundings is open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, 7 days a week - offering local produce, presented with care, creativity & flair.
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We dined in the Brassiere twice during our stay. The menu is small and rather pricey, but every single dish and dessert we have ordered was done to perfection, leaving nothing nothing to desire and us wanting more.

Thank motherwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

62 - 66 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Overly fussy menu. certainly not fine dining, very average and expensive for what it is. Staff were pleasant. couldn't find any staff to get a drink at the bar later. We would not return

Thank frankum62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal at The Lovat Brasserie. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Background music was wonderful and food came quickly. The salmon was delicious and cooked perfectly. For dessert we ate the banana parfait which was delightful. Would definetly dine their again!

1  Thank _izzy_tschannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

I used to love going to the Lovat. I have probably eaten there 20-30 Times. Been back twice in the past couple of weeks and it’s just not what it used to be. The food has lost the inspirational flair it used to have. Either the new chef is just not up to the job or the old chef has lost his interest in food.
A week or so ago, a pre ordered set menu was not available to order, so had to find an alternative. Today, the meat was dry, over cooked and just not of a quality I would expect from the Lovat.
The service is bing done by staff that clearly don’t actually have any experience in service. When is bread served on the side plate to the right? Do we no longer get the chance to taste wine before multiple bottles are opened? The list could go on....
It was a busy day but the staff represent the restaurant and cheap staff appeared to have been drafted in and it was felt.
The higher price always used to be worth it but on the past two occasions, that can no longer be said. Over priced for institutional food combined with strangely poor service.

5  Thank D2265NUmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Many thanks for your review as we are always interested to learn of customer experiences so we can develop and improve. We are however struggling to ascertain your booking reservations over the last couple of weeks and there seems to be anomalies with the review which just don’t fit with our operation.

Pre-ordered set menu – we do not offer a pre-ordered set menu for our guests unless you are a large group of 13 guests or more…and we do not serve bread – we place it on a wooden board with butter and pesto. The only exception for this is for large parties or on Christmas Day.

Wine – the normal procedure when you order wine is we offer for you to taste the wine and we would also refresh glasses if changing wine between courses. I can only apologise if we failed to do this during your visit – when did you come again?
The list could go on - I would be interested to see what else is on your list.

Cheap staff – we don’t really understand what this means - are you insinuating that we are a dining sweat shop?

Institution – some examples are below:
1. an organization, establishment, foundation, society, or the like, devoted to the promotion of a particular cause or program, especially one of a public, educational, or charitable character;
2. a public or private place for the care or confinement of inmates, especially mental patients or other persons with physical or mental disabilities
3. the institution of the family
which institution are we?

Institutional food – what is this because our Brasserie menu is very different to anything else experienced in the local area.

It is delight to learn of repeat custom. Some 20-30 times you say – I find it upsetting however that such a frequenter to our establishment didn’t feel comfortable speaking to management on the 2 days in question and can only muster the courage to write their thoughts on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Well worth a journey for this place alludes to the high quality fare on offer next door in their high end restaurant along with having more hearty basic options on offer. The cocktail list and friendly service stands out as far better than you might expect in a small town like fort Augustus

Thank thecockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lovat Brasserie also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Aberchalder, Scottish Highlands

Been to The Lovat Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing